Overjoyed!

April 10, 2009 at 11:53 pm | Posted in Baseball, Rays | 7 Comments

Today, I went to one of my favorite places in the entire universe, Durham Bulls Athletic Park, for the first time in 2009.  The Bulls were supposed to play the Norfolk Tides, but unfortunately the game was rained out.  But I’m not upset about the rain out, mostly because of an unexpected surprise.  It turned out that the William Harridge Trophy that was awarded to the Rays for their 2008 American League Championship was present at the ballpark!  Of course I posed with it, and here I am with the official symbol of the Rays championship:

harridge_trophy

Seeing the trophy in person was definitely one of the happiest moments of my life, and this immediately becomes one of my favorite photos.  It was awesome for the Rays to share the trophy with their growing legion of fans in North Carolina.  William Harridge, by the way, was the president of the American League from 1931 to 1958.

Due to the rain out, I’ll be attending tomorrow night’s game between the Bulls and the Tides.  David Price, who was supposed to pitch tonight, will be pitching in that game.  It’s the second time that I’ll get to see Price pitch in person this year.  I also saw him pitch in the spring training game that I attended in Port Charlotte.  And yes, the post about my spring training experience is coming very soon.  Anyway, the Tides are the Triple-A affiliate of the Baltimore Orioles, so I’ll also get to see Matt Wieters in action.  It’s tough to beat seeing the top two prospects in baseball playing in the same game.  And as an added bonus, I’ll get to meet another card blogger in person.  Pete from Dropped Third Strike will also be at the game, along with his girlfriend Kim.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. you are like a proud father, haha.

  2. wow, thats cool!

  3. I’m jealous; too bad for the O’s, Price had the upper hand on Wieters last night as he went 0-4; however, Nolan Reimold had a HR. I’m concerned that Nolan will not ever get to make his Major League debut with the O’s because of the Pie/Jones/Markakis/Scott log jam in the OF. Dave, I’ll be down at the DAP in late May for the ACC baseball tournament; any interest in meeting up for that? E-mail me if you’d like.

  4. Very nice- Is Durham a nice area? My wife wants to move to NC around the Raleigh/Durham area. I’m sure if we did move there, I would be at a ton of Durham Bulls games.

  5. Dave is everything OK? Haven’t seen a post from you in a while.

  6. Nice picture. Digging the matching t-shirt.

    moe.

  7. I miss the DAP. I miss sitting in the lower deck and watching the Bulls play and the adventure of seeing kids run after the winning celebration balls the players would throw out after a victory.

    I am just happy I happened to be at Duke Divinity when some of the Rays best players were passing through (although didn’t get to see Longoria who is the best). BJ Upton was my favorite Bull and will continue to be my favorite MLB player because of the opportunity of watching him in my first year in Durham.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

