I love it when this happens!

April 25, 2009 at 5:50 pm | Posted in Football | 11 Comments

I am so happy right now.  My favorite NFL team, the Buffalo Bills, just used their #1 pick to draft the best player from my college alma mater, Penn State, Aaron Maybin!  Maybin was a red-shirt sophomore for PSU last year, and emerged as one of the most dominating players in college football after being given a chance to start for the first time.  Maybin’s season was, in my opinion, the top season by a Penn State defensive end since my freshman year of 1997.  That includes Courtney Brown, the #1 overall pick in the 2000 draft, Michael Haynes, and Tamba Hali, who were also first round picks.

This comes two years after the Bills drafted Paul Posluszny, one of the all-time greatest Penn State linebackers.  Coupled with the addition of T.O., I am starting to get very excited about the upcoming football season!  Hey, with the Rays getting comfortable in last place in the A.L. East, I need something to look forward to…

You can bet that I’ll be scouring eBay for Aaron Maybin autographs to add to my collection soon.

maybin

I’m sorry for the lack of posts recently.  I’ll explain my absence and the future of this blog soon.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dave, hope all is well, sounds like there’s some changes in store for you. Rays will be ok by the end of the season, don’t worry.

  2. Cool! I never knew that you were Bills fan, Im goin with the Ravens this year

  3. Maybin looks tiny there, and there’s no way in freakin’ hell he compares to the baddest penn state linebacker of all time: LAAAAAAAAAAVAR.

    Arrington was definitely one of the best prospects to ever come out of Penn State.

    To be honest, I’m somewhat worried about the Maybin pick and looking at this picture leads me to believe that stroud is going to have a hell of a time keeping blockers off the second level.

  4. Yeah, he does look kinda small in that picture. His playing weight was about 234 pounds last year, but he has bulked up and added almost 20 pounds of muscle in the last few months. He is a beast! I’m not worried at all – I think he’s going to be a dominant pass rusher in the NFL.
    .
    I didn’t compare him to Arrington because they played different positions. Arrington made the most spectacular plays that I’ve ever seen at PSU, but in terms of day-in and day-out production, I’d take Poz over him as a linebacker. Interestingly, Maybin and Arrington are good friends, and Maybin is a client of Arrington’s sport management firm.

  5. I loved Arrington – he was just a freak of an athlete, and I think Maybin is going to shape up to have a nice career also.

    So what’s happening with you and the blog? If you don’t wanna announce it, feel free to shoot me an email.

  6. you ever coming back?

  7. I think it’s time to hold a memorial for “Fielders Choice” blog. I will officially take this off my favorites folder right after this message.

    It’s been fum while it lasted.

  8. I’m not a Bills fan (I haven’t rooted for any team in particular since the Cowboys traded my favorite player of all time, Emmitt Smith), but it is nice to see two recent PSU greats playing together. Hopefully they make some noise and remind everyone how great PSU defenders really are. I’m hoping Dan Conner has a break-out year as well.

    Let’s Go State…alums!!!

  9. Dave, Whats Happening? You havent posed in almost a month!

  10. You OK Dave?

  11. Maybin cards can be had for a steal right about now… I thought he’d perform a little better this past year, but there is still plenty of time.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

