Longlorious!

June 19, 2008 at 8:49 pm | Posted in My Cards, Rays | 1 Comment

Since i got back into “The Hobby” earlier this year, one of my main focuses has been on building a collection of certified autograph cards from my favorite players on the Rays. I’ve obtained many certified autographs of Crawford, Upton, Kazmir, Shields, and others, but perhaps the most exciting cards have been the ones of the rookie phenom third baseman, Evan Longoria.

So far, I own the following autographed Longoria cards:

  • 2006 Bowman Chrome (rookie)
  • 2006 Bowman Sterling (rookie)
  • 2006 Bowman Sterling dual auto w/ Carl Crawford #/275 (rookie)
  • 2007 Bowman #/500
  • 2007 Bowman’s Best

Today, I received a sixth card to add to my collection, a 2007 Bowman Sterling card that is autographed and includes a piece of an authentic game-worn jersey.

I won an eBay auction for the card about two weeks ago, but the seller is in Taiwan, so it took a while for the card to get here. I’ve gotten some pretty good deals on eBay from sellers in Taiwan, actually. I think that some people are leery of bidding on cards sold by sellers overseas, but most of them have low shipping prices and good feedback ratings, and I’ve had nothing but positive experiences with them.

There have been a steady stream of cards arriving in my mailbox for the last few months. Usually my wife Rebecca’s reaction when they arrive is “Daaaave, do you really need more baseball cards?” But today, I showed her my new Longoria card and she gave a much different reaction, “Oooh”. She admired the shininess of the card, listened attentively as I pointed out the piece of game-worn jersey, read the short biography on the back, and even asked some questions about Evan. It was exciting to me that she took an interest in the card, and I started dreaming that one day she’ll become a collector like The Infamous Tatiana. I seriously doubt that will ever happen, but it was still nice that she liked the card.

By the way, Wax Heaven announced today that Evan Longoria will be the subject of the third 2008 SPx Mystery Redemption. It looks like a sweet card and I’ll have to pick one up on eBay. I’m also holding out hope that the 2008 Topps Finest Redemption #4 will be Evan, since I own the #4 Redemption card, and of course I hope that it will be autographed.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW! That is a hot Longoria card! He has a pretty signature. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

