342 hits and counting

June 25, 2008 at 1:39 am | Posted in Introduction | 2 Comments

I’m proud to report that after 10 days of existence, the hit count for Fielder’s Choice Baseball Card Blog stands at 342. That number is dwarfed in comparison to more established blogs, but considering that I haven’t really done any promotion or outreach to other blogs (which I plan to do), I’m pleased.

I owe a debt of gratitude to Mario from Wax Heaven as the majority of my hits have come from his blog. Mario has plugged Fielder’s Choice a couple of times and I’ve also gotten a bunch of hits from the link to my blog that appears in the comments that I’ve left at Wax Heaven. Also, thanks to Treasure Never Buried, For The Love Of Baseball, and Cardboard Junkie for linking to Fielder’s Choice. If anyone else has linked to me, then I definitely appreciate it; I just haven’t noticed it yet.

A bigger thrill than the hit count was doing a Google search this morning for “Fielder’s Choice” and finding this blog as the 10th result. Then this evening I did the same search and it was up to the 7th result! Things certainly move quickly with Google!

Stay tuned for more great things from Fielder’s Choice and let me know if you have any feedback, positive or negative. Up next will be the conclusion of my baseball stadium countdown, a post on the reasons why I left The Hobby in 1994, and my special commentary on the good side and the dark side of Josh Hamilton. I’ll also be actively seeking trades to complete my 2008 Topps Heritage set soon, and I’ll be asking for some help to locate some very hard-to-find Don Mattingly cards that I need.

Finally, I want to thank all of the people who have left comments to my posts. Seeing your comments makes taking the time to write the posts worth it, and I hope that the number of comments only increases as time goes on. Also, if anyone out there is thinking about starting their own baseball or baseball card blog, I would encourage you to go for it. It’s been a lot of fun blogging so far!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats on the 342 (which is a killer batting average, too! LOL!). I was reading Wax Heaven and saw his mention of your site and decided to check it out. Honestly, I’ve seen “Dave from Fielder’s Choice” posted so many times, I never would have guessed you were new to the card blogosphere! 🙂 Welcome to the clubhouse!

  2. Thanks, David! You have a great first name, and as you can see in my blog about baseball stadiums, I like your team’s home park a lot. Wax Heaven is responsible for pretty much all of the publicity that I’ve gotten in these past 11 days…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

