More David Price

July 6, 2008 at 1:59 am | Posted in Minor Leagues, My Cards, Rays | 2 Comments

I recently wrote about David Price and showcased my collection of his cards. Today I happily added a fifth autographed Price card to my collection when I received a 2007 Donruss Elite Extra Edition “School Colors” card numbered to only 50 that I recently won on eBay:

As you can see, it is a sweet looking card, and I am thrilled to own it. It actually has a very shiny, refractor-like surface that you can’t really see in the scan. I really like the cards from Donruss Elite Extra Edition that I have, although they are all David Price cards. The quality of the cards is making me think that Donruss-Playoff should be awarded a license to start producing baseball cards again (the Elite Extra Edition set is ostensibly a college sports set).

The thing that amazes me about the card is the bargain price that I paid for it. There are only 50 of these cards in existence and I was able to buy it for about one-third of the price that some less rare 2008 Bowman Chrome refractor autographs of Price are selling for, and only slightly more than I paid for the “Turn of the Century” Elite Extra Edition card that is numbered to 500. I’m not sure why this card isn’t in higher demand, but I’m glad that I was able to get it for less than I expected!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I want Fleer, Score, and Donruss back simply to give us new photos again… I never liked Donruss or Score, but I hated to see Fleer go… I think they had the Inserts market cornered…

  2. That’s a good point, JV. I wish that Upper Deck would put out some quality Fleer sets, which would be better than most of the crap they’ve put out lately. If Donruss-Playoff gets a license again, I hope that they put out not only Donruss sets, but Score and Pinnacle sets too. Maybe even Sportflics. I know that they’re making Score football cards because I’ve seen them at Wal Mart. Maybe I should start some sort of movement to get MLB to give them a license again…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

