Finally another set that I like!

July 7, 2008 at 1:04 am | Posted in My Cards, Topps | Leave a comment

After my triumphant return to the hobby earlier this year, I went through a phase where I bought many different hobby boxes. I was rediscovering the joy of opening new packs of cards and trying to decide what sets I liked more than others. I’ve bought hobby boxes of the following products:

From 2007:

  • Upper Deck Goudey (2)
  • Upper Deck Masterpieces
  • Upper Deck SP Authentic (2)
  • Upper Deck Sweet Spot Classic (2)
  • Topps Allen & Ginter (2)

From 2008:

  • Upper Deck Series 1
  • Upper Deck Series 2
  • Topps Heritage (3)
  • Topps Finest (2)
  • Topps Co-Signers
  • Bowman (retail blasters only)

I was surprised to find that in general, I liked the sets that cost less money more than the more expensive sets. My favorite has been Topps Heritage; it has been a lot of fun trying to complete that set. I also loved Goudey, which is the set that brought me back to the hobby, although I was able to complete my Goudey green back base set fairly quickly. I’m also trying to complete my sets of Masterpieces, Allen & Ginter, and Upper Deck Series 1 & 2. I developed a distaste for the expensive sets where the base cards seemed like just filler for the “hits”, especially SP Authentic and Co-Signers. Topps Finest falls somewhere in the middle because I do like the many different types of refractors.

After being thoroughly disappointed by Co-Signers, I started to avoid many new sets like Spectrum, SPX, and Piece of History. On a side note, I have been very unimpressed by all Upper Deck products this year besides the flagship Series 1 & 2, and I’m planning a post where I’ll slam many of their sets. Hopefully I’ll enjoy this year’s Goudey just as much as I did last year’s. I can’t wait for it to come out later this month. So as I waited for Goudey and Allen & Ginter, I was desperately hoping for something else to come out that I’d want to collect.

Enter Topps Chrome. I didn’t know much about Topps Chrome, having never really seen it before this year. I initially avoided it since I decided not to collect the flagship Topps set after comparing it to Upper Deck when both sets first came out (I may change my mind about this down the road). But I was in Wal Mart yesterday checking out the cards and saw that they had blasters of Chrome. I figured that I’d give it a shot, so I bought one. I am very impressed by it!

There are a ton of inserts and refractor parallels. Out of the 30 cards in the blaster, I only got 16 base cards. So it may take a lot of effort to build a base set. But I don’t mind because the inserts and refractors look damn cool! After my experience with the blaster and hearing positive things from JV about his hobby box, I decided to buy two Topps Chrome hobby boxes from a seller on eBay today. I can’t wait for them to arrive.

Since I was so happy with it, I thought I’d share the results from my blaster:

Base cards:
8 – Jimmy Rollins, my first round pick in both of my fantasy leagues this year:

49 – Scott Rolen
62 – David DeJesus
84 – The despicable Elijah “You dead, dawg” Dukes
100 – Lance Berkman
101 – Randy Johnson
116 – Josh Hamilton
128 – Adrian Gonzalez
132 – Chipper Jones
154 – Brian Bannister
166 – Michael Young
184 – Adam LaRoche
199 – Hiroki Kuroda (RC)
200 – Elliot Johnson (RC) of the Rays:

202 – Alex Romero (RC)
214 – Clete Thomas (RC)

Dick Perez inserts, which look awesome in Chrome:
WMDPC10 – Prince Fielder!


WMDPC11 – Jacoby Ellsbury:

Topps Heritage inserts (these are all different Chrome and Refractor cards than the ones that were included in the actual Heritage set):
C171 – Jeff Francoeur (1874/1959)
C199 – Luke Hochevar Refractor (484/559), absolutely awesome-looking:

Mickey Mantle Home Run History insert:
MHRC420 – Home Run #420 … haha:

50th Anniversary Topps All-Star Rookie Team insert:
ARC7 – Andruw Jones:

Trading Card History inserts:
TCHC38 – Magglio Ordonez (1951 Topps Red Back):


TCHC39 – Pedro Martinez (1904 Fan Craze):

Copper refractor:
141 – Ryan Zimmerman (003/599), it’s #003 and he’s a 3rd baseman, so obviously this is a 1/1 (kidding):

Blue refractor:
191 – Edinson Volquez, the breakout star from the Reds rotation this year:

X-fractors:
42 – Magglio Ordonez:


74 – James Loney

Regular refractors:
195 – Eugenio Velez
202 – Alex Romero (whose fans would have been very happy with this blaster)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

