Tugging on Superman’s cape

July 9, 2008 at 11:57 pm | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 7 Comments

First, I want to point out that I really, really hate Upper Deck’s pointless “A Piece of Shi History” set. It will be a central focus of my upcoming post slamming Upper Deck’s recent products. That said, there is one (and only one) card in the set that I wanted to have since the second I first saw it. It is the “A Piece of Hollywood” card that contains a piece of Superman’s cape from Superman III. Now, I usually hate these non-sports cards in baseball card sets, and Superman III is one of the weaker Superman movies, but this is still a piece of the actual cape that Christopher Reeve (or as Upper Deck calls him on the card back, “Christopher”) wore while playing one of the legendary superheroes of all time in the movie. Being able to own that is pretty damn cool!

I bought the card on eBay over the weekend and it arrived in the mail today:

It is definitely one of the most interesting cards in my collection now.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think that’s one of the coolest cards to come along in a long time. While they skimped out on names and photographs, likely for licensing reasons – I am really happy with how they put a picture of the memorabilia on the back of the card. Now that they have shown that they CAN do it, I really wish they would do it for all their memorabilia cards. I’d be thrilled with a picture of the athlete signing on the back of the autographed cards too, but I am realistic.

    I’m doing the set – my favorite might be the hockey jersey worn by Dana Carvey from Wayne’s World.

  2. Yeah, there is a picture of the actual cape on the back of the card, and you’re right that it would be nice if they did that on all memorabilia cards. I’ve always wanted to know the actual game(s) that a jersey on a card was used in too. The cards would have more value to me if they had that information. And thanks for alerting me about the Dana Carvey hockey jersey card. I’ll be looking for that on eBay too. Don’t worry, I won’t get into a bidding war with you, I’ll snipe it at the last second 🙂

    Hold on, there’s a car coming … now it’s gone … game on!

  3. My Wayne’s World jersey is hopefully already in the mail (two colour as well!). So, no worries about sniping me. It would be a case of dueling snipes, though.

  4. There once was a company that put a lot of pictures on the backs of the actual memorabilia. Donruss/Leaf/Playoff Inc. Baseball card collecting is not the same since thay were shoehorned out by Upper Dick and Toppers. God forbid a baseball card company should offer fair box prices, and make nice jersey and auto cards. Didn’t they know the whole point was to put out a cheaply made, expensive product in order to make the biggest profit margin possible?

    R.I.P. DLP

  5. I wasn’t an active collector when Donruss-Playoff had its license earlier this decade (not counting when Donruss was a separate company and when it was owned by Pinnacle), but from what I have read, it seems that a lot of collectors had gripes about them too. I do really like their 2007 Elite Extra Edition set, and it would be nice to see them get their license back just to add more competition for Topps and Upper Deck. I’d like to see some of the old Donruss, Leaf, Score, and Pinnacle brands come back too. Hopefully we’ll see that happen someday soon.

  6. Thanks for the post

  7. Hey I pulled this card last week also and was trying to sell it… How much did you buy it for and if anyone wants it contact me at broken_star01@yahoo.com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

