It’s good to blog about Josh Hamilton

July 15, 2008 at 9:52 pm | Posted in Baseball, Blogs | 2 Comments

I’m in the middle of watching the All Star game, as most of you probably are, but I am excited to report that today, July 15, 2008 was the busiest and best day in the short history of Fielder’s Choice Baseball Card Blog. Thanks to my two posts about Josh Hamilton, the blog got 439 hits in one day, which smashed the previous record of 120 hits set five days ago. Thanks to everyone who read my thoughts on Hamilton and left comments. I guess it pays off to blog about the right topic at the right time!

Another exciting development was that I received an email from the producer of a local talk radio show this morning, asking if I could be a guest on the show to talk about Josh Hamilton. Unfortunately, the show took place at exactly the same time as an important meeting at work, so I couldn’t do it. I let her know that I’d be happy to discuss Hamilton or any other baseball topics on the show another time. As a new blogger and a lifelong baseball fan, I am honored to even be considered for something like that.

With Hamilton on my mind today, I came across a very interesting article from the St. Petersburg Times from Spring Training in 2001. It covers the the first signs that Josh Hamilton was starting to head down the wrong path in his life. It was chilling to read some of the quotes from Hamilton and his parents, knowing how events would unfold in the future for him. Reading it was like watching Anakin Skywalker in the Star Wars prequels. Also, if you’re curious, you can check out Hamilton’s mug shot from an arrest in 2005.

That’s it for now. I’ll be back for more blogging later tonight. Let’s go American League!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats on the radio invite. That’d be a pretty cool opportunity.

  2. Congrats on your Performance in the All Star game. It was Awesome to watch. All the Guys I work with are ribbing me about seeing me on Espn as my name is Josh Hamilton as well.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

