Forget Allen & Ginter – I got some Bad Wax!

July 25, 2008 at 1:11 pm | Posted in Blogs, My Cards | 3 Comments

This post is a bit overdue, but better late than never. A few weeks ago, I was intrigued by this post on the Bad Wax blog. Not only did it bring to my attention some great cards to have autographed (see here for some of my results with these cards), but I was promised some “Bad Wax” from Mike (a.k.a. chemgod) for ordering them. I’ll admit that I was very eagerly awaiting the arrival of my Bad Wax just to see what it would contain.

The result? Pure 1980s gold that brought back fond memories of my childhood.

First was a set of 1986 Donruss Highlights cards, featuring all of the great moments from the 1986 season:

My favorite card in the set, two Yankee legends on one card:

Bo Jackson hit the longest homer in what is now Kauffman Stadium as a rookie:

It’s a travesty that this man isn’t enshrined in Cooperstown yet:

I always wondered why Kevin Bass looked like he was about to cry in all of his cards:

Finally, a completed Hank Aaron puzzle card … niiiiice!

Next up was a 1987 Fleer Baseball’s Best Sluggers vs. Pitchers set. I actually remember envying one of my friends for owning this set 20 years ago:

I can’t understand why Sid Bream, of all people, was included in this set with his .253 batting average and limited baseball skills. It looks like he’s entranced in a daydream here:

Here’s a treat for all Rays fans – our announcer Joe Magrane – and check out that ERA!

Jose Canseco seems to have found something mysterious on his bat:

And finally, Rickey Henderson as a Yankee, posing with his eyes closed:

Remember kids, you too can own some Bad Wax like this! All you have to do is check out Bad Wax (one of the most informative blogs out there), buy some autograph cards (which I’d highly recommend anyway), and it’s yours!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Joe Magrane went to the university of Arizona . .. Go Wildcats!

  2. Bert Blyleven isnt enshrined because he said “fuck” on a Twins broadcast by accident.

    Other than that, there is no reason he shouldnt be in there.

  3. I guess that means that you won’t be getting elected to the baseball card blogger Hall of Fame, Gellman?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

