Sick of hearing about Brett Favre? Here’s more…

July 26, 2008 at 2:58 pm | Posted in Topps | 1 Comment

I personally am very sick of hearing about Brett Favre. Does he want to retire? Does he want to play? Poor Brett can’t make up his mind! He’s like a woman trying to decide what she wants to wear for a night out. Yeah, Brett’s showing his feminine side. Sports Center has been unwatchable in the last week or so with the constant segments about Favre. I can’t listen to ESPN radio either, but at least there is the great MLB Home Plate channel on XM where I can avoid the Favre talk. OK, I know I’m off the subject now, but any baseball fan really should subscribe to XM. For $12 a month, you can listen to every MLB game and listen to baseball talk from entertaining experts like Buck Martinez, Bill Ripken, Rob Dibble, and Kevin Kennedy 24/7 on Home Plate.

Anyway, back to Favre. Even though I don’t like hearing about him and I’m not interested in football cards, I found this to be interesting. Apparently the Topps football set is out and there are two gimmick cards of Brett Favre. I know that we all love Topps gimmick cards, don’t we Chris and dayf?

The first one actually looks cool. That’s Vince Lombardi’s face in the background:

The second one looks rather lame. It’s Favre driving a tractor, apparently enjoying “retirement”:

I’m not bothered by the gimmick cards in Topps baseball or even the ones in Topps Heritage, which is a set that I collect a lot more of than regular Topps. So I’m not bothered by these cards either. I figure that each collector is free to decide what they want and don’t want, and if they don’t like the gimmick cards, they don’t need to buy them. Just because they exist doesn’t mean that you need to get them for the set you’re putting together…

Check back in a few hours for the full details about my Allen & Ginter box breaks!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Holy Crap! I didn’t see Lombardi until you mentioned it and when I looked at the card again, it kinda scared me a little.

    That’s waaaayyy creepier than the Mick hanging out like the Grim Reaper in the dugout waiting for Jeter to hit a foul ball and smack Dubya (to death) in the face…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

