The case is here!

July 30, 2008 at 2:58 pm | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 2 Comments

The U.P.S. man was just here to drop off my case of 2008 Goudey, so I’m very excited right now. This is the first, and likely the last, case of baseball cards that I’ve ever purchased. I want to share some of the excitement with my readers. Here’s the unopened case:

Here is the case after I opened it with 12 boxes inside:

Here’s the first box that I’m opening:

My plan is to open one box per day and share the results on the blog. As I write this, I’ve opened one pack so far. I’m not going to post about every single pack, but since this is the first one, I want to share it. Here’s what I got:

  • #25, Dustin Pedroia
  • #72, Magglio Ordonez
  • #88, Billy Butler
  • #103, Warren Spahn (there are several retired players in the base set this year)
  • #155, Chris Young (of the Padres, not the Diamondbacks)
  • #176, B.J. Upton (woo hoo – a Ray in the first pack!)
  • #292, Gary Hall Jr. Sport Royalty mini short print (a swimmer)
  • Tommy John Yankee Stadium Legacy (Game 4528 on 10/13/1981)

The cards of A.L. players have a picture of Derek Jeter on the front with the phrase “Derek Jeter says …” while the cards of N.L. players have Ken Griffey Jr. and “Ken Griffey Jr. says …” The original 1934 Goudey cards, which are the inspiration for this set, had “Lou Gehrig says …” Interestingly, though, neither Jeter nor Griffey actually “say” anything on the back of the cards. All of the base cards have green backs, while the Gary Hall Jr. Sport Royalty card has a red back. I don’t think that there are any red back parallels of the base cards like last year.

Here are some scans:

B.J. Upton, card #176:

Warren Spahn, card #103:

Gary Hall Jr. Sports Royalty, card #292:

I’ll be back later with more results from the first box…

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dude, a whole case? Wow, that is some cash! Good luck!

  2. I can’t wait to see what you get!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

