Goudey box breaks 3, 4, and 5

August 3, 2008 at 10:29 pm | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 3 Comments

Box 3:

  • 117 base cards in this box. Only 7 of them were cards that I didn’t get in the first two boxes, so I’m still 18 cards short of completing the base set.
  • Short prints of Carlton Fisk (#205), Bo Jackson (#212), and Dave Winfield (#219). Exactly the same ones as the second box. Now I have doubles, yay. I’m stuck on 6 out of the 30 short prints.
  • President cards of James Madison (#233) and Theodore Roosevelt (#240). Already had Madison, but Teddy is new for me. Now I have 4 out of the 20 Presidents.
  • 1936 Black & White cards of Alex Rodriguez (#252) and C.C. Sabathia (#254). More doubles. I have 4 out of the 20.
  • Sport Royalty cards of Mike Schmidt (#280), Dan O’Brien (#287), and Tom Brady (#302). Only Brady is one that I didn’t already have. I now have 8 out of the 60 Sport Royalty cards.
  • Berk Ross inserts of Emmitt Smith (HPC-9), and Mario Lemieux (HPC-19). I now have 6 out of the 30.
  • Yankee Stadium Legacy inserts of Earle Combs (160), Johnny Mize (2249), Phil Rizzuto (2274), and Bernie Williams (5409). 14 of these so far in the case.
  • Red back mini cards of Jeff Francoeur (#9), Victor Martinez (#61), Glen Perkins (#113), Jack Cust (#139), Ichiro (#165), and Frank Thomas (#191). Already had Martinez, Perkins, and Ichiro, so now I’m up to 15 out of the 330.
  • Blue back mini cards of President Woodrow Wilson (#245) and Ryan Braun Black & White (#268). Two short print blue backs, so that’s nice. I have 6 different ones now, but I have no intention of trying to get all 330.
  • Green back mini card of Bruce Jenner Sport Royalty (30/88), and no Black back mini cards.
  • Aramis Ramirez jersey card (M-RA).
  • Brandon Phillips autographed card. Sweet, this is the best auto from the case so far. Phillips is a star for one of my fantasy teams and is one of the most underrated players in the game. It’s a great looking card too.

Box 4:

  • 113 base cards in this box. This is the first box in which I got more than one of some of the base cards. I also didn’t get any that I didn’t have yet, so after 4 boxes, I’m still 18 cards short of completing the base set.
  • Short prints of Paul Molitor (#213), Don Mattingly! (#220), and Reggie Jackson (#221). That brings me up to 9 out of the 30 short prints.
  • President cards of James Monroe (#234) and William H. Taft (#248). That brings me up to 6 out of the 20 Presidents.
  • 1936 Black & White cards of Johan Santana (#262) and Ryan Howard (#269). I’m up to 6 out of the 20.
  • Sport Royalty cards of Chipper Jones (#281), John Elway (#295), and Larry Bird (#312). I’m now up to 11 out of the 60 Sport Royalty cards.
  • Berk Ross inserts of Bill Russell (HPC-4), and Ken Griffey Jr. (HPC-13). I now have 8 out of the 30.
  • Yankee Stadium Legacy inserts of Bob Meusel (350), Earle Combs (355), Babe Ruth (500), Dave Winfield (4542), and Dave Winfield (4546). 19 of these so far in the case.
  • Red back mini cards of Max Scherzer (#6), Travis Hafner (#58), Joe Mauer (#110), Rollie Fingers (#136), Orlando Cepeda (#162), and David Murphy (#188). Now I’m up to 21 out of the 330.
  • Blue back mini cards of Daisuke Matsuzaka (#28), and J.J. Hardy (#106). I’m up to 8 out of 330.
  • Green back mini card of “Dr. J” Julius Erving Sport Royalty (27/88), and Black back mini card of Billy Wagner (18/34).
  • Aaron Rowand jersey card. This card is strange for two reasons. First, he’s pictured with the White Sox, for whom he hasn’t played since 2005. He’s been with the Phillies and now the Giants since then. But the jersey has a black pinstripe, clearly from a White Sox uniform. It’s also strange because the number on the back is M- (no initials after the M).
  • Vince Coleman autographed card. Wow, that’s random. Coleman has a card in the base set too. It’s kind of cool to get an autographed card from a player who was pretty good when I was a kid. But like I said, he was pretty good (stole a ton of bases), but not a great player.

Box 5:

  • 116 base cards in this box, and I got all 18 cards that I still needed, so after five boxes, I have a full base set of 200 cards (and a ton of doubles)!
  • Short prints of Bobby Thomson (#217), and Mike Schmidt (#224). Only 2 in this box, but they are 2 that I needed, bringing me up to 11 out of the 30 short prints.
  • President cards of Theodore Roosevelt (#240) and Woodrow Wilson (#245). I needed Wilson, so now I have 7 out of the 20 Presidents.
  • 1936 Black & White cards of Jake Peavy (#261) and Ryan Braun (#268). I’m up to 8 out of the 20.
  • Sport Royalty cards of Amy Van Dyken (#273), Josh Beckett (#294), Michael Jordan – very cool! (#300), Dave Winfield (#305) and Larry Bird (#312). Wow, 5 Sport Royalty cards in one box! The only one that I already had was Bird, so now I’m up to 15 out of the 60 Sport Royalty cards.
  • Berk Ross inserts of Derek Jeter (HPC-8), and Roger Staubach (HPC-27). I now have 10 out of the 30.
  • Yankee Stadium Legacy inserts of Red Ruffing (697), Joe McCarthy (747), Bill Dickey (772), and Rick Cerone (4487). Seriously, how did Rick Cerone qualify to be on these cards? 23 of these so far in the case.
  • Red back mini cards of Jeff Francoeur (#9), Erik Bedard (#15), Rich Hill (#35), Jack Cust (#139), Richie Ashburn (#145), and Frank Thomas (#191). Francoeur, Cust, and Thomas are duplicates, so I’m up to 24 out of the 330.
  • Blue back mini cards of Jeff Francoeur (#9), Victor Martinez (#61), and Glen Perkins (#113). This is the first time I’ve gotten 3 of these in a box. I’m up to 11 out of 330.
  • Green back mini card of Torii Hunter (64/88), and no Black back mini cards.
  • Matt Holliday jersey card (M-MH). It has a nice purple pinstripe. This is my favorite jersey card so far.
  • And the big hit … a Jackie Joyner-Kersee Sport Royalty autograph card! This is a one-per-case hit, so I was very excited when I pulled the card. I ran to show my wife and told her that it was probably worth over $100. Then I checked eBay and saw it selling for $20. Oh well. Beckett will probably list it for $200, and then I can feel more special for pulling it. But regardless of this card’s worth, I really like it. Jackie Joyner-Kersee is one of the greatest female athletes of all-time.
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awesome box breaks! Love the Rowand card. I encountered the same thing with Rowand in 2008 Spectrum. There is a White Sox uniform relic in there too. Weird.

  2. Thanks Steve! I guess Upper Deck must have had a few extra Rowand White Sox jerseys sitting around that they needed to cut up and insert into cards.

  3. I pulled one auto from the box that I busted with the dealer at the Card Shop I frequent. He had pulled the Jackie Joyner-Kersee auto a few days prior so he gave it to me since the box was short the G/U. It’s a great looking card…

    Great Pull! I can’t wait to see how the rest of the box goes…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

