Two Milestones

August 3, 2008 at 11:34 pm | Posted in Blogs | 5 Comments

I am excited to announce two milestones for Fielder’s Choice Baseball Card Blog today. First, I need to give a major hat tip to Mario from Wax Heaven for making me aware of a blog contest at SidRosenberg.com. Sid Rosenberg is a sports radio personality in South Florida and he started a contest last week to find a blog post for his show’s web site. Mario had a great submission of his own for the contest, but I figured I’d take a shot at it too, and I submitted my first post about Josh Hamilton for the contest. I consider that post to be my best ever, and on a side note, it’s the highest viewed post on this blog, with more than twice as many views as any other post. It was also responsible for the highest number of hits in a day, on the day after the Home Run Derby. Anyway, to my surprise, I found out today that I won the contest! So check out SidRosenberg.com, and you’ll see my mugshot about two-thirds of the way down the page. You can also go directly to my blog post on the site here. I am very honored to be the winner of the contest. I think it will be a weekly thing, so I’d definitely encourage other bloggers to go for it. I know that there are many great writers in the sports card blogosphere!

Secondly, today, August 3, is the 50th day of this blog’s existence. I was amazed when I saw this afternoon that it had surpassed 5,000 hits! Fielder’s Choice has grown faster than I anticipated, and I am really enjoying it so far! Thanks to everyone who has checked out the blog! I hope that you’ve enjoyed it, and I hope that I can make it even better in the coming months. I do have many ideas in the planning stages. I also owe a big thanks to all of the blogs that have been kind enough to add a link to Fielder’s Choice. WordPress shows me a list of “referrers” every day, and it amazes me how many people find their way here from Wax Heaven, Cardboard Junkie, Stale Gum, Sports Cards Uncensored, Treasure Never Buried, and many others. It is great to be a part of the baseball card blog community and it’s a lot of fun. If anyone out there is thinking about starting their own blog, I would highly recommend it.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. man, that’s friggin’ awesome, Dave!! Congrats… I’m definitely putting my name in the hat next go around…

  2. Congrats on the win, although I am a little bit jealous.

  3. Too bad there’s not a link or something on the page.

  4. Tony, I asked them if they could put a link to Fielder’s Choice on the page, but haven’t heard back from them on that yet …

  5. Congratulations! That is a great article!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

