Goudey box breaks 6 and 7

August 6, 2008 at 1:16 am | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 5 Comments

Here are the results from the sixth and seventh boxes from my 2008 Goudey case.

Box 6:

  • 116 base cards in this box. I already have a complete base set, so I’m just adding on to my collection of doubles at this point.
  • Short prints of Cal Ripken (#202), Rod Carew (#216), and Stan Musial (#230). All three were ones that I needed, bringing me up to 14 out of the 30 short prints.
  • President cards of Abraham Lincoln (#237) and William McKinley (#244). I’m now up to 9 out of the 20 Presidents.
  • 1936 Black & White cards of Albert Pujols (#251) and Derek Jeter (#258). I’m up to 10 out of the 20. Half way there – woah-oh – livin’ on a prayer!
  • Sport Royalty cards of Bill Russell (#277), Dan Gable (#284), and Rulon Gardner (#322). The two guys you’ve never heard of are wrestlers. Not WWE wrestlers, but the kind that hump other men on a mat in a gym. I’m up to 18 out of the 60 Sport Royalty cards.
  • Berk Ross inserts of Ben Roethlisberger (HPC-3), and Tom Brady (HPC-29). I now have 12 out of the 30.
  • Yankee Stadium Legacy inserts of Bob Meusel (348), Urban Shocker (398), Joe McCarthy (742), Charlie Keller (1546), and Roy White (3754). 28 of these so far in the case.
  • Red back mini cards of Manny Ramirez (#23), Johnny Bench (#47), Clayton Kershaw (#75), Chad Billingsley (#99), Phil Rizzuto (#127), and Bill Mazeroski (#151). I’m up to 30 out of the 330.
  • Blue back mini cards of Hanley Ramirez Black & White (#259) and Carl Yastrzemski Sport Royalty (#271). Two short prints. I’m up to 13 out of 330.
  • Green back mini card of Magic Johnson Sport Royalty (10/88), which is pretty cool, and a Taupe back mini card of Bucky Dent (4/8). It’s nice to get a card that’s limited to 8 copies, but it would’ve been nicer to get someone better than Dent. Maybe I can find a Red Sox fan to buy this card!

  • Andruw Jones bat card (M-AJ). There was once a time when it would be exciting to get an Andruw Jones relic card. Those days are gone.
  • Steve Pearce autographed card. Pearce is a decent prospect for the Pirates. He’s had a lot of success in the minor leagues but hasn’t done much in the majors so far. I’m not thrilled with this card right now, but maybe in a few years I’ll feel differently.
  • Graig Nettles Yankee Stadium Legacy memorabilia card. The card has a jersey with a Yankee pinstripe in it. It’s a really nice looking card of a guy who is one of the most under-appreciated Yankees of all-time. These cards are one per case. I’m happy with it, but I’d love to trade it for a Mattingly!

Box 7:

  • 117 base cards in this box. I already have a complete base set, so I’m just adding on to my collection of doubles at this point.
  • Short prints of Ryne Sandberg (#210) and Whitey Ford (#223). Only two in this box, but I needed both. This brings me up to 16 out of the 30 short prints.
  • President cards of George Washington (#231) and Ulysses S. Grant (#238). Needed both. I’m now up to 11 out of the 20 Presidents.
  • 1936 Black & White cards of Hanley Ramirez (#259) and Matt Holliday (#266). Needed both. I’m up to 12 out of the 20.
  • Sport Royalty cards of Carl Yastrzemski (#271), Barry Sanders (#278), Derek Jeter (#285), and Stan Musial (#329). I needed all 4 so I’m up to 22 out of the 60 Sport Royalty cards now.
  • Berk Ross inserts of Don Mattingly (HPC-2), and Yogi Berra (HPC-20). This is the first time I’ve gotten doubles of these. I still have 12 out of the 30. I recognize the picture of Mattingly. It’s the same one that’s on his 1994 Upper Deck SP card.
  • Yankee Stadium Legacy inserts of Roger Maris (3072), Roy White (3800), Thurman Munson (3883), and Sparky Lyle (3908). I’m thinking about naming my first son Sparky. 32 of these so far in the case.
  • Red back mini cards of Nick Markakis (#21), Jeff Francis (#67), Jack Morris (#73), Tom Seaver (#119), Carl Crawford – woo hoo! (#177), and Austin Kearns (#197). I’m up to 36 out of the 330.
  • Blue back mini cards of Ryne Sandberg (#210), President Ulysses S. Grant (#238), and Barry Sanders Sport Royalty (#278). All are short prints. I’m up to 16 out of 330.
  • No Green back mini cards, but a Black back mini card of Carl Yastrzemski Sport Royalty (15/34).
  • Pedro Martinez jersey card (M-PM). I can’t complain about a piece of a jersey worn by a sure Hall of Famer.
  • Jeff Francis autographed card. He’s OK, I guess. This is the second time I’ve pulled a Francis auto (the other was from 2008 Co-Signers).
  • Seven boxes down and five to go! I’m still waiting for an original 1934 Goudey buyback card, and I heard a rumor that there are more than one Sport Royalty autograph cards in some cases…

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’d be happy to trade for both/either of the Francis’ from box 7. Just so you know the autograph is one of the set’s SPs (less than 100 copies). If you’d like to work on a trade, let me know.

  2. I should’ve realized that you’d be interested in Jeff Francis because he’s a Canadian! I just found out about the Francis auto being a short print. Although if you look at the list of short prints, he has to be the least desirable guy in there. Email me to let me know what you’d trade for it…

  3. It’s deja vu all over again with the Mattingly.

    Very cool catch. I have my 2000 topps Hank Aaron reprints in a binder and it’s fun to look at them and go Gee, these 2 cards look the same and these 2 cards look the same.

  4. Thanks! Really funny. I wish i could spend my time on writing articles…just have no time for it.

  5. The card shop I go to in Minneapolis has one of those Don Mattingly Yankee Stadium Legacy jersey cards. He has it listed at $80, but I’ve done a bit of haggling with him and I think he might go down to $60. He’s also a big Minnesota sports guy, so if you have anything rarer of Mauer/Morneau/Adrian Peterson, he might be interested in working a swap. If you like, I can get his contact info for you… just let me know.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

