Goudey box breaks 8, 9, and 10

August 9, 2008 at 2:42 am | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 4 Comments

And the 2008 Goudey case break continues with three more boxes…

Box 8:

  • 117 base cards in this box. I already have multiple complete base sets, so I’m just adding on to my collection of doubles at this point.
  • Short prints of Brooks Robinson (#201), Cal Ripken (#202), and Whitey Ford (#223). Robinson is the only one of the three that I needed, bringing me up to 17 out of the 30 short prints.
  • President card of George Washington (#231). It’s a double so I’m still at 11 out of the 20 Presidents.
  • 1936 Black & White cards of Magglio Ordonez (#265) and Matt Holliday (#266). I needed Ordonez, bringing me up to 13 out of the 20.
  • Sport Royalty cards of Chipper Jones (#281), Derek Jeter (#285), Janet Evans (#290), Jack Nicklaus (#298), and Sanya Richards (#326). Jones and Jeter are doubles, so I’m up to 25 out of the 60 Sport Royalty cards.
  • Berk Ross inserts of Don Mattingly (HPC-2) and Manny Ramirez (HPC-28). Wow, that’s my third Mattingly already! I needed Manny though, so I now have 13 out of the 30.
  • Yankee Stadium Legacy inserts of Tony Lazzeri (623), Babe Ruth (723), Phil Rizzuto (1412), and Reggie Jackson (4414). 36 of these so far in the case.
  • Red back mini cards of Phil Niekro (#10), Brad Hawpe (#62), Prince Fielder (#104), Justin Morneau (#114), and Hideki Matsui (#124). Only 5 red mini’s in this box, but at least all were ones that I needed. I’m up to 41 out of the 330.
  • Blue back mini cards of Derrek Lee (#34) and Daric Barton (#138). I’m up to 18 out of 330.
  • Green back mini card of Gary Sheffield (71/88), and a Black back mini card of Gary Hall Jr. Sport Royalty (22/34).
  • Matt Holliday jersey card (M-MH). Yep, another one. Duplicate jersey cards in the same case. At least it’s Matt Holliday, with another nice-looking purple pinstripe.
  • Aaron Harang autographed card. Harang had been one of the best pitchers in the National League over the last couple of years, but his performance has slipped this year. Not a bad autograph to get, but not one that I’m jumping up and down about either.

Box 9:

  • 117 base cards in this box. I already have multiple complete base sets, so I’m just adding on to my collection of doubles at this point.
  • Short prints of Carlton Fisk (#205), Bo Jackson (#212), and Tony Gwynn (#226). I needed Gwynn but the others go into my double pile. I’m now up to 18 out of the 30 short prints.
  • President card of Rutherford B. Hayes (#247). I needed Hayes, so I’m up to 12 out of the 20 Presidents.
  • 1936 Black & White cards of Alex Rodriguez (#252) and Prince Fielder (#267). I needed Fielder, bringing me up to 14 out of the 20.
  • Sport Royalty cards of Andre Dawson (#286), Dan O’Brien (#287), Gary Hall Jr. (#292), and Stan Musial (#329). I needed Dawson and Hall, so I’m up to 27 out of the 60 Sport Royalty cards.
  • Berk Ross inserts of Kobe Bryant (HPC-14) and Patrick Roy (HPC-23). I needed both, so I now have 15 out of the 30. Half way there!
  • Yankee Stadium Legacy inserts of Urban Shocker (376), Lefty Gomez (1127), Gil McDougald (2816), Don Mattingly! (5179), and Derek Jeter (6070). 41 of these so far in the case.
  • Red back mini cards of Bobby Thomson (#217), Mike Schmidt (#224), President Theodore Roosevelt (#240), Jake Peavy Black & White (#261), Amy Van Dyken Sport Royalty (#273), and Josh Beckett Sport Royalty (#294). All short prints here. I’m up to 47 out of the 330.
  • Blue back mini cards of Brian Roberts (#17) and Chien-Ming Wang (#123). I’m up to 20 out of 330.
  • No Green back mini cards in this box, but I did get a Black back mini card of Bucky Dent (19/34).
  • Manny Ramirez jersey card (M-MR). You know, I’m kinda starting to like Manny now. He and I both dislike the Red Sox. And maybe his loafing cost them a couple wins this year. Plus, there’s no doubt that they’re a worse team with him gone.
  • David Murphy autographed card. I’m pretty happy with this one. Murphy is quietly having a great season for the Rangers. He’s been a stud for one of my fantasy teams, although he went on the DL the other day. This is definitely one to hold on to as Murphy becomes a star.

Box 10:

  • 116 base cards in this box. I already have multiple complete base sets, so I’m just adding on to my collection of doubles at this point.
  • Short prints of Frank Robinson (#203), Ryne Sandberg (#210), and Whitey Ford (#223). I needed Robinson but the others go into my double pile. I’m now up to 19 out of the 30 short prints.
  • President cards of George Washington (#231) and Ulysses S. Grant (#238). Both are doubles, so I’m stuck at 12 out of the 20 Presidents.
  • 1936 Black & White cards of Hanley Ramirez (#259) and Matt Holliday (#266). Both are doubles, so I’m stuck at 14 out of the 20.
  • Sport Royalty cards of Carl Yastrzemski (#271), Barry Sanders (#278), and Jenny Thompson (#306). All are doubles, so I’m stuck at 27 out of the 60 Sport Royalty cards.
  • Berk Ross inserts of Bill Russell (HPC-4) and Ken Griffey Jr. (HPC-13). I already had both. Not much luck with this box so far. I still have 15 out of the 30.
  • Yankee Stadium Legacy inserts of Lou Gehrig (292), Herb Pennock (442), Thurman Munson (3833), Dave Righetti (4603), and Lou Piniella (4628). 46 of these so far in the case.
  • Red back mini cards of Fred Lynn (#206), Don Mattingly (#220), President James Monroe (#234), Johan Santana Black & White (#262), Chipper Jones Sport Royalty (#281), and Julius Erving Sport Royalty (#288). Again, all short prints here. I’m up to 53 out of the 330.
  • Blue back mini cards of Nolan Ryan (#208), and President James Buchanan (#250). I’m up to 22 out of 330.
  • Green back mini card of President John Adams (13/88), and a Taupe back mini card of Andre Dawson Sport Royalty (8/8). Sweet! Do you want to trade for this card, Charlie?
  • Brandon Webb jersey card (M-BW). Nice card.
  • Sport Royalty autographed card of former decathlete Dan O’Brien. This is the second Sport Royalty autograph in the case, and there’s only supposed to be one per case “on average”. So I beat the odds here. Dan O’Brien is the “Dan” in Reebok’s “Dan and Dave” ads from 1992. He’s the one who didn’t qualify for the 1992 Olympics, which ruined the ad campaign. Anyway, the card is selling for about $20 on eBay, so it’s nothing earth-shattering.
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Want to sell or trade one of the base sets you have?

  2. You know that I do! Let me know what you think when you get the package I sent, and we’ll figure out how to get it done!

    BTW – It’s really cool to see someone break a whole case like this. I hope to be able to do the same thing next year.

  3. Chemgod – yes, I would be willing to sell or trade a base set. I should finish posting all of the breaks and sorting all of the cards this weekend, and then I’ll let you know.

  4. Thanks for the Dan & Dave reference. Always felt for old Dan but at least he showed some good humor about it with those commercials after he didn’t make the cut.

    He will forever serve as an early endorsement jinx warning…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

