Fielder’s Choice will be back soon

August 12, 2008 at 4:58 pm | Posted in Personal | 5 Comments

Today is Tuesday, and I haven’t posted anything since Saturday night.  Blogging can be a lot of fun, but it’s also very time consuming.  Since I started this blog in June, it has taken up more of my life than it really should.

Think about it this way.  Before February of this year, card collecting didn’t take up any of my time because I wasn’t an active collector.  Then I started reading about cards, buying cards on eBay, making some trades, receiving and sending cards in the mail, busting boxes, and organizing my collection.  It would take up about half of my free time at night after I got home from work.  Since June, I’ve still been doing all of these things, but I’m blogging about it too.  Blogging isn’t just about writing the actual blog posts.  There’s scanning cards (which is a major pain), managing the look and format of the posts and the entire blog, reading and responding to comments, and emails.  There have been days recently where almost all of my free time has been devoted to my card collection and my blog.  I also haven’t been getting as much sleep as I need, and it’s affecting other areas of my life.  It shouldn’t be that way.

So I’m taking a break to recharge my batteries.  Don’t worry, I’ll be back, probably by this weekend, because there are still a lot of fun things to write about.  But from now on, I’m not going to worry about it if a day or two goes by without any posts, I’m not going to worry about how many “hits” I’m getting per day, and I’m not going to worry about how many other bloggers link to this blog, or if they want to remove their links if I’m not updating every day.  I have to remember that I started this blog because I thought it would be fun, not because I wanted everyone else to like it.  If a lot of people like it, that’s awesome, but I need to do this because I enjoy it, not because I want to please other people.  After all, this isn’t my job and I’m not getting paid for it.

I know that the rest of this week will be busy for me, and I’m sure that I could churn out some half-assed posts, but I’m not going to do that.  I’m only going to write posts when I have the time to write something that is high quality and is worth my time and my readers’ time.  Like I said, I should have the time for that this weekend or soon after.

Hopefully you’ll stay tuned.  In the mean time, there are 85 older posts that you can take a look at if you haven’t seen them already.  Here are some of the topics I’ll be writing about when I’m back:

  • The 11th and 12th box breaks from my Goudey case.  I opened the boxes a few days ago, but haven’t had time to post about them yet.  There was a major disappointment when I didn’t get something that should have been in the case.  I’ll let you know what that is and what Upper Deck is doing to fix the problem.

    Holy crap, I sound like one of those local news commercials.  “Something went terribly wrong today at the nuclear power plant.  It may affect your safety and your health.  Tune in to Eyewitness News tonight at 11 to find out what it is!”
  • My thoughts on Carl Crawford and Evan Longoria going on the D.L. and how that will affect the pennant race for the Rays.  Needless to say, I’m not too happy about it.
  • My thoughts on Rocco Baldelli’s amazing comeback and his influence on my card collection.
  • Details about some cool items that I picked up at a card show this past weekend.
  • The start of a series of posts on ideas that I have on how the card companies can improve their products.  In other words, free consulting for Topps and Upper Deck.  I’ve been planning to do this since I first started the blog, but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

See you soon!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Damn, that was fast.

    I am surprised you had over 80 blogs written already. I will be here when you return.

  2. You didn’t get a buyback card?? If so, that sucks hard, especially after the SR autos were kind of lame.

  3. Charlie, yeah I didn’t get a buyback card. I tried to be ambiguous about it, but I guess since everyone knows what I got in the first 10 boxes, it’s obvious what I didn’t get in the last two. On the bright side, I did get a third Sport Royalty auto, though it wasn’t any less lame than the other two. And Upper Deck is trying to make it up to me. More details later…

    Oh by the way, your Dawson cards went out in the mail today.

  4. Dave, I see blogging as a hobby just like card collecting. When that hobby starts to feel like a chore it’s either time for a break or time to move on. In this case, I hope a break is all you need to re-charge yourself.

  5. Take time out and discuss with your wife the boundries of posting. That’s what I did and we are now good. If feel for you though, after reading what you wrote I went through the same thing.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

