I love Topps Heritage

August 21, 2008 at 11:48 pm | Posted in Topps | 4 Comments

I might have hinted at it before, but now I want to come right out and tell you all, I love Topps Heritage.  2008 Topps Heritage has been hands down my favorite baseball card product since I got back into collecting about six months ago.  Yeah, 2007 Goudey was the first product that I bought, and it revitalized my interest in new cards, but when I first opened Topps Heritage, it surpassed Goudey in my eyes.

Heritage was the first Topps product that I had bought in over 13 years.  At the time (March), I really considered myself to be an Upper Deck collector.  I wasn’t impressed with Topps’ base set at all, but since I loved the design of 1959 Topps and liked the idea of retro sets, I bought a hobby box of Heritage to see if I’d like it.  And it blew me away.  I thought that Topps did a great job of replicating the 1959 design with today’s players.  I loved the rookie and All Star subsets, the inserts (New Age Performers, Then & Now, Baseball Flashbacks, and News Flashbacks), the retail-only inserts (Dick Perez cards at Wal Mart and mini T205 cards at Target), the chrome cards, and most of all, the refractor cards.  Can you believe that the first refractors that I ever pulled from a pack were from this year’s Topps Heritage?  That’s what happens when you’re not collecting for 13 years…

The thing that I like the most about Heritage is how fun it is to build a set.  I love that there are 500 cards and all of the inserts to collect.  It reminds me of the days of my youth that I spent building 1987, 1988, and 1989 Topps sets.  Anyway, I went through three hobby boxes, about five blasters, and I was buying individual packs almost every time I walked into Wal Mart or Target for about two months.  I’ve also made a bunch of trades and a few purchases.  Mostly I had to buy a bunch of the short prints.  Today I’m still 28 cards short of the base set.  See my Trading Corner to see if you can help me out with the cards that I need.

For a while, I’ve held off on buying any new packs or boxes of 2008 Topps Heritage since I was so close to completing the base set.  I figured that it would be more efficient for me to buy or trade for the cards that I still needed.  So, I had been eagerly anticipating the day in early 2009 when the next Heritage set would be released.  I even bought a box of 2007 Heritage to quench my Heritage thirst, but I didn’t like it nearly as much as the 2008 version.

So, as you can imagine, I was thrilled to find out about the upcoming “Topps Heritage High Numbers” set.  It is awesome that there will be 220 more 2008 Topps Heritage cards to enjoy, including one of Evan Longoria, and even a “Rookie Performers” insert of the Longlorious third baseman:

As great as I think the new set will be, I am miffed about one detail.  Topps is going to make the set more difficult to complete by putting two 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights cards into each pack.  I’m sorry, but that doesn’t make any sense.  Why would you insert cards from a completely different set into Topps Heritage High Numbers?  I know that I have no plans to collect Updates & Highlights (except for Longoria’s card), and now when I buy Heritage High Numbers, I’ll end up with a bunch of cards from that set that I have absolutely no use for.  I really don’t understand this idea.  Is the inclusion of these cards supposed to make more people want to buy Heritage High Numbers?  I don’t think so!  The set should be able to sell based on its own merit.

Despite the useless Updates & Highlights cards, I will definitely be at the front of the line to buy 2008 Topps Heritage High Numbers when it comes out!  Heritage is the set of the year so far in my opinion.

I’ll finish with some free advice for Upper Deck – how about an annual Fleer Heritage set?  Start with the 1981 Fleer design, skip 1982 because it sucked, and then go from there.  Sets based on 1983 and 1984 Fleer would be hugely popular!  If you do it right, collectors from my generation might like it better than Topps Heritage because the designs would be from the glory days of our collecting in the 1980s.  You might as well do something with the Fleer brand…

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Back before Fleer was bought out by Upper Deck, they made a set based loosely on the design of 1981 Fleer: 2001 Fleer Platinum.

  2. Very interesting…food for thought…and my daughter completely agrees with you. Plus, lack of gloss is always compelling.

  3. Couple things. First off you are absolutely right about Topps Heritage – this is absolutely Topps best set of the year. Their base set this year is downright fugly.
    Interesting idea about a Fleer Heritage set. Other than Ultra, I don’t think Upper Deck really has any use of the Fleer brand at the moment.

  4. Well, they’re not even using Ultra for baseball anymore. They got the rights to the Goudey name when they bought Fleer, but I think that’s the only Fleer brand name they’re using now.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

