It’s Staal Good!

September 19, 2008 at 1:06 am | Posted in Hockey | Leave a comment

I know that it’s week-old news by now, but I was very happy to hear that the Carolina Hurricanes signed their best player (and one of the best forwards in the NHL), Eric Staal, to a 7-year $58 million contract extension.

The ‘Canes are the only major league sports franchise in the Raleigh-Durham market, and I’ve become a huge fan of the team since I moved here in 2001.  We have multiple college basketball powerhouses (Duke, UNC, and NC State) and minor league baseball teams (Durham Bulls and Carolina Mudcats), but the Hurricanes are the team that really unites all of the sports fans around here.  Staal has been my favorite player since he was drafted in 2003, and it is great to see the ownership make the financial commitment to keep him in Raleigh for at least the next 7 years.

I have a modest collection of Eric Staal autographed cards, along many other Hurricanes players, and I’ll probably be building my collection during this hockey season.  Who knows, maybe I’ll even decide to buy a hobby box of hockey cards…

It’s hard to believe that hockey season is only a few weeks away now, but I am looking forward to it.  I usually go to about 15 games per season.  The RBC Center in Raleigh is a great place to watch a game.  Hopefully the Canes can return to the playoffs for the first time since they won the Stanley Cup in 2006.  I still can’t believe their epic collapse in the final couple of weeks to miss out on the playoffs this spring.

Check out Staal in the awesome new black alternate uniform that was recently unveiled:

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

