What I’ve been up to

September 19, 2008 at 12:49 am | Posted in Personal | 1 Comment

To all of my readers, I’m sorry that my posting has been a little sparse over the last couple of weeks.  I was out of town the last two weekends.  On top of that, work has been busy, and at night I’ve had to keep my wife entertained because she’s been off from work.  She’s a third grade teacher at a year-round school and she’s currently tracked out.  That means she’s not grading papers and planning lessons at night when I usually blog.

I’ve been working on completing my end of some card trades this week.  I’ve gotten a few of them done and I’m working on some others.  If you’re waiting to hear back from me on a trade offer, rest assured that I’ll be getting back to you soon.

In addition to all of that, I really have to say that September has been an enjoyable month.  It’s usually pretty good because my birthday is on 9/8, but this year it’s been an especially good month.  The Rays are in the middle of an amazingly exciting division race against the Red Sox.  No matter what, they’re pretty much assured of making the playoffs, but a division title sure would be nice.  As you can imagine, I was very happy about the two series wins against Boston in the last two weeks, but I’m not too happy about how the Rays’ bullpen stole defeat from the jaws of victory tonight against the Twins.  Also, my Buffalo Bills are 2-0 and they’re starting to convince me that they might be legitimate playoff contenders this year.  And my alma mater, the Pennsylvania State University is off to a 3-0 start, albeit against three very weak teams.  Plus, both of my fantasy baseball teams have made it to the championship round.  I have two fantasy football teams this year too, and I’ll just tell you that they’re doing less than great so far.  On top of all of that, I’ve been addicted to reading about this year’s elections.  I have to say that this has been the most entertaining Presidential election that I can remember, mostly due to the extreme difference in competence between the two candidates.  We also have good races for Governor and U.S. Senator here in North Carolina.  My wife and I are supporting the candidate for Governor who actually cares about public education (Perdue) and the candidate for Senate who’s actually from North Carolina (Hagan).

As for baseball cards?  There’s not much exciting going on this month.  Topps hasn’t had anything new come out since Bowman Chrome over a month ago.  Upper Deck X looks really boring.  Ballpark Collection does look interesting, and it appears to deliver more value than similarly priced products, but I probably can’t afford it until next month.  Maybe Gellman can do a group break on SCU?

The rest of the year should be more interesting for baseball card releases.  I’m looking forward to Upper Deck Masterpieces, Topps Heritage High Number Series, Stadium Club, Donruss Threads, and whatever Razor’s first baseball card product turns out to be.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yea, I’m really intrigued by Ballpark Collection as well, but I guess SCU’s group break is for Absolute? Go over to http://www.groupbreakers.com. I saw that they just did a box break of Ballpark and got some pretty nice cards. But if anyone wants in on a Ballpark box, I’m down.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

