The pull of a lifetime…

September 21, 2008 at 3:06 am | Posted in Blogs, My Cards, Personal | 4 Comments

There’s a lot of talk among card collectors about “pulls of a lifetime”.  They’re talking about cards like a Babe Ruth cut signature or a card that has a strand of Abraham Lincoln’s hair embedded in it.  I’m fairly confident that I’ll never pull a card like that in much the same way that I’m sure I’ll never win the lottery.  I’m at the point where whenever I open a hobby box or a pack, I expect that I won’t get a “pull of a lifetime” or even a very good hit.  It’s like the old Gin Blossoms lyric, if you don’t expect to much from me, you might not be let down.

So my pull of a lifetime isn’t something that I’ve pulled from a pack.  It’s a card that I pulled from a bubble mailer that was delivered to my mailbox a couple of weeks ago.  It came from Byram, Mississippi, the home of JV from Treasure Never Buried.  Along with a couple of Evan Longoria refractors and a Scott Kazmir jersey card, I received this card:

Ladies and gentlemen, this is the first ever autographed card of Connor Voyles, a 4-year old shortstop who is a big time prospect currently playing for the Fireballs of the Forest Hill Youth Club tee-ball league!  When Connor becomes a Major League star in about 20 years, I could sell this card for thousands of dollars, but I think I’ll hold on to it.

I’m pretty sure that most of my readers read Treasure Never Buried too, but if you don’t, you really should.  JV is an incredibly talented writer and a great guy.  Some of his best writing is about his family.  It’s obvious that JV has his priorities in order, and his son Connor is the most important part of his life.  Over the past few months that we’ve both been blogging and chatting through Google Talk, I’ve come to consider JV to be a great friend and an inspiration as the kind of dad that I’d like to be in a few years.

So thanks to JV and Connor for this extremely awesome card!  I can assure you that it will have a special place in my collection for many, many years, and it will serve as a reminder of the things that are really important in life.  And my wife likes it too.  Not only does she think that Connor is a really cute kid, but she really likes that I’ve been talking so much recently about how much I’m looking forward to be a dad.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. There are things in life that make you truly humble and appreciative. This post is definitely one of them.

    Thanks for the kind words and for shining the spotlight on the little guy that’ll break all the records and all the girls hearts…haha…

  2. Aside from my own children’s little league cards, I’d say this is probably the best auto’d card I have seen! VERY COOL!!

  3. Right on, great post.

  4. Awesome! Great auto card!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

