And in other news…

September 29, 2008 at 12:59 am | Posted in Baseball, Football | 6 Comments

2008 is shaping up to be the best year ever for the sport teams that I root for…

As is well-documented on this blog, the Tampa Bay Rays won the A.L. East and are going to the playoffs for the first time ever.

My alma mater, Penn State University, is off to a 5-0 start in college football, and they’ve vaulted up to #6 in the polls.  I didn’t know if they were for real before this week.  But then Oregon State (a team that we beat 45-14 a few weeks ago) beat USC on Thursday.  And in the first Big Ten game of the season, we beat a good Illinois team 38-24 on Saturday night.  We have to play Wisconsin and Ohio State on the road this year, and Michigan (who we haven’t beaten since 1996) at home.  It’s going to be tough, but it looks like this could be a very special season.

My favorite NFL football team, the Buffalo Bills, is off to a 4-0 start after beating the Rams 31-14 today.  Yeah, you could argue that they should have beaten the Rams by more than 17 point, but it’s a road win and I’ll take it.  The whole team is playing really well, and I’m starting to believe that the Bills will make the playoffs for the first time since 1999!

Today, I officially won both of the fantasy baseball leagues that I competed in this year.  Somehow I’ve managed to win about 95% of the leagues that I’ve been in over the last 5-6 years.  I guess my friends aren’t quite as fanatical about baseball as I am.  I’m hoping to start a fantasy league for baseball card bloggers next year to get some good competition.

If this trend continues, you can bet that the Carolina Hurricanes are going to be very, very good this year…

Becca and I at the PSU Lion Shrine in 2004

Becca and I at the PSU Lion Shrine in 2004

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A fantasy league for bloggers is a great idea! Congrats on that AL East division, the Rays really deserve it. I answered your question on my comments page!

  2. I’m glad your teams are cooperating: Iowa lost to Northwestern for homecoming last weekend, the Super Bowl-forecasted Vikings (by some) are 1-3, and the Yankees… well, you know.

  3. Eric, I think the Yankees “cooperated” for such a long time, that it should hold you over for a while!

  4. It depends on where I’m at in my life when baseball season rolls around next spring, but me and the 112 hits my blog has received would love the chance to play in a blogger league.

  5. lonestarr, what is your blog?

  6. there was a fantasy league for bloggers this year… Chris from Stale Gum somehow cheated and beat me for the title.
    Cardboard Junkie, House of Cardboard, Cincy Red Cards were also represented. (my apologies to those I forgot)

    Brian (Captain Canuck on APAD)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

