Magnificent Masterpieces

September 30, 2008 at 1:04 am | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 7 Comments

Thanks to reader P.A. from Winston-Salem, NC, who sent me card #72 (Alex Rodriguez) in a trade, I have completed my set of 2007 Upper Deck Masterpieces!  This comes just one day before 2008 Masterpieces is officially released.

2007 Masterpieces has been one of my favorite sets to collect.  The set features paintings of 90 current and retired players on canvas-like card stock.  The framed parallels are pretty nice, the relic cards look good, and the autographs are great.  I pulled autographs of Josh Hamilton and Hunter Pence.  Even better, the autographs are on card!

So I’m eager to get my hands on a hobby box of the 2008 version of Masterpieces.  Hopefully Upper Deck can repeat the success of the 2007 set.  Here’s a look at the key card for me, Evan Longoria:

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dave,
    It’s good to see that card #72 found a good home. Masterpieces is an awesome set; I’m willing to call it superior to A&G. Best of luck in your pursuit of the Longoria card, and I hope you have just as much success with your autos or jersey cards you find this year.

  2. There’s a Mattingly in the base set of 2008 Masterpieces and there’s a ton of parallel border colors from what I’ve seen from the checklist. I’m looking into buying a box of those. There’s a Mattingly with a black border already up on Ebay since last night.

  3. That card is ruined by the RC logo that isnt needed.

  4. Gellman – I don’t mind the RC logo. Years from now, it’ll be nice to look back on my Longoria cards and easily see which ones were produced in his rookie year.

  5. You better jump on this auction, the Longoria base and black border!!

    http://cgi.ebay.com/2008-UD-MASTERPIECES-EVAN-LONGORIA-SP-RC-LOT-BLACK-UDA_W0QQitemZ220287937645QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item220287937645&_trkparms=39%3A1|66%3A2|65%3A1|240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

    MOJO, rad, cool, all that jazz that joe collector says!

  6. Peter, I actually cropped the picture from that auction for the picture that I put in this blog post. I didn’t bid on the auction because I have a hobby box of Masterpieces on the way, and I want to see what I can pull from that first.

  7. I would be beyond stoked for this release if not for the aggravating addition of 30 short prints. Not surprising — having SPs means I need to buy more to complete the set.

    Hopefully in a year or so these boxes will be on deep discount and I’ll snag one then.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

