Ozzie Guillen, former Devil Ray

October 3, 2008 at 1:21 am | Posted in Baseball, Rays | 1 Comment

As I was watching today’s playoff game, I started to think about how their manager, Ozzie Guillen, was briefly a Tampa Bay Devil Ray during the 2000 season.  You wouldn’t believe how hard it is to find pictures of him in a Tampa Bay uniform!  I could only find one on the internet, featuring Ozzie with the Wax Heaven hero, Jose Canseco:

I’d love to find a baseball card of Guillen with the Rays to add to my collection.  It looks like he had a few Pacific cards in 2000, but I can’t find any images to see if he’s pictured in a Devil Rays uniform or not.  If anyone has any of these cards, let me know!

Update: I just got an email from Steve of White Sox Cards.  He says that the 2000 Pacific cards show Guillen with the Braves, but he attached this image of his 2001 Topps card with the Devil Rays:

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Now that the cat is out of the bag as for me being a Devil Rays fan, I must admit I also liked Dave Martinez and Randy Winn.

    As far as Guillen, he and Jerry Manuel are on my all-time baseball shit list next to Tony La Russa. Ozzie kissed Jose’s ass every which way imaginable but turned his back on him during the “blackball”.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

