Weekend update

October 4, 2008 at 8:58 pm | Posted in Baseball, Random, Rays | 2 Comments

I just wanted to check in with a quick update for the weekend.  Here’s what’s on my mind:

  • As you can imagine, I was extremely happy last night with the Rays’ 6-2 win over the White Sox.  I was very pleased with the way that Scott Kazmir was able to turn it around after struggling through the first inning.  The announcers were attributing his poor first inning to the fact that he (probably intentionally) hit Orlando Cabrera, and they thought it threw him off his game.  That may have been somewhat of a factor, but I think it might have been the pressure of pitching his first post-season game that had Kazmir a little bit jittery.  He was masterful after that first inning, and I’m hopeful that he’ll keep it up through the rest of the playoffs.  Also, you gotta love Akinori Iwamura.  He doesn’t hit many home runs, but when he does, they’re huge!  I can’t wait for Game 3 in Chicago tomorrow.  Hopefully Carlos Pena will be back in the lineup and the Rays will finish off the sweep!
  • The Red Sox vs. Angels series has been very entertaining as well.  It certainly looks like Boston will win it now that they’re up 2-0 and the series is heading to Boston.  If it does turn out to be Tampa Bay vs. Boston in the ALCS, I know that it will be an all-time classic series.  Every single game that the two teams played in the regular season was dramatic and memorable.  I’m thinking that the series could rival the 2003 and 2004 ALCS series between the Red Sox and Yankees, which I consider to be the best league championship series that I’ve ever seen.
  • Penn State kept rolling today with a 20-6 win on the road against Purdue.  We’re 6-0 now!  Next week on the road at Wisconsin is going to be a huge test…
  • This has nothing to do with sports, but I went to see Bill Maher’s new movie, Religulous, today.  If you’re a fan of Bill Maher (and I’m a huge fan), you’ll absolutely love it.  Even if you don’t like him or his opinions about religion, I’d highly recommend it; it might make you think about things in new ways…
  • I’m going to try doing some video box breaks sometime in the next couple of days.  I just got hobby boxes of 2008 Masterpieces and Ballpark Collection.  Hopefully that will work out and you’ll see the results posted on the blog soon.  If I have trouble, then I’ll at least write about my box breaks.
  • I’ve been writing about the Rays a lot, and that’s going to continue until their post-season run ends, but I’m also going to be writing several more “Making Better Cards” posts in the near future.  The first one was pretty popular; you can check it out here.
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good luck on the box break, especially the Ballpark. Hope you get the Mattingly/Jeter (exchange?) autograph card. I went through my girlfriend’s A & G doubles and found 301, 304, and 348. I got some 2008 Masterpiece doubles so post what cards you need when you can. Fair warning, Ryan Zimmerman cards are plentiful.

    The Dodgers/Cubs series has been pretty good. Although, it’s been Torre’s boys dominating Sweet Lou’s boys.

  2. Im going to see religuglous today. I cant wait. I have been waiting for it to come out for months.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

