2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces Hobby Box Break

October 8, 2008 at 2:32 am | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck, Video | 6 Comments

Check out Fielder Choice Baseball Card Blog’s first ever video box break featuring 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces!

Here’s the breakdown of what I got:

  • 56 (out of 90) base cards – but no Evan Longoria
  • 6 (out of 30) short prints – including Don Mattingly!
  • 4 black border parallels
  • 1 red border parallel – Matt Holliday
  • 1 gray border parallel (056/100) – Rod Carew
  • 4 Yankee Stadium Legacy cards
  • 1 “Captured on Canvas” memorabilia card – Justin Morneau
  • 1 “Stroke of Genius” autograph card – Noah Lowry

I have the box break of Ballpark Collection taped and I’ll be uploading it to YouTube tomorrow.  For now, I’ll just say that Ballpark Collection is really, really cool.  I’ll have some scans from both boxes posted too.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Dave, you are doing an excellent job on the video box breaks. As I have been pretty poor lately, it’s great to see other collectors break boxes. In addition, you go at a perfect pace and finish right on time at 10 minutes. For answer your question about the Gigantes jersey every Sept 6, the Giants celebrate Hispanic baseball players which also coincides with Hispanic Heritage Month. The jerseys are just a tribute to those players and Hispanic culture.
    As for the Lowry card – sorry bout that man. He used to have so much potential, but he was never a power pitcher. He had some rare nerve disease that sidelined him this whole year, and then he hurt his elbow or shoulder or something and got surgery just recently. His career might indeed be over. I’m looking forward to the next break! Good job!

  2. yeah, work will have to wait this morning…I couldn’t resist…

    But, Garbage? Decoy? Come on, you just pulled pretty packing material for trades!! haha… (speaking of Nennth Inning, in our recent trade, he used some of the UD filler cards to pack it out…really good idea.)

    Great Break! I agree, Aybayz. Great timing. I always get nervous when I see a video that’s approaching the ten minute mark, thinking that the author ran out of time and the box break is rushed. This, however, was perfect.

    If you ever do run over 10 though, look at hosting on Vimeo. They don’t have a time limit. You’ll notice that most, if not all, of Mario’s breaks are Vimeo.

    Anyway, great video! You’ve convinced me to buy a box. Now, if I can just convince my wife to LET me buy a box I’ll be game.

  3. Great video Dave. Keep up the good work!!

  4. You end up with any dups? Post your needs and we can trade. My girlfriend has a list of A&G’s she wants so I’ll send you those and we can take a look at our Masterpieces to see if we can help each other out.

  5. Peter – I didn’t get any doubles.

    David – What is so good to be true about that eBay listing? It’s for an Allen & Ginter base card, and the seller deceptively cropped the scan to make it look like a mini. That’s pretty lame.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

