2008 Upper Deck Ballpark Collection Hobby Box Break

October 9, 2008 at 1:36 am | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck, Video | 14 Comments

I’m back with another video box break, this time of 2008 Upper Deck Ballpark Collection:

Here’s the breakdown of what I got:

  • 6 (out of 100) base cards
  • 2 Yankee Stadium Legacy cards
  • 4 Dual Swatch memorabilia cards
  • 4 Quad Swatch memorabilia cards
  • 1 Six Swatch memorabilia card
  • 1 Eight Swatch memorabilia card
  • 1 Rookie Autograph card – Luis Mendoza
  • 1 Autographed Memorabilia card – Brandon Phillips

I was pretty impressed with what you get in one box of Ballpark Collection.  I got 10 non-autographed memorabilia cards, all featuring more than one player.  The list of players on the memorabilia cards is pretty amazing: Miguel Cabrera, Mike Schmidt, Johnny Damon, Manny Ramirez, Curt Schilling, Jonathan Papelbon, Jason Varitek, Wade Boggs, Carlos Guillen, Brandon Inge, Gary Sheffield, Ivan Rodriguez, Johan Santana, Billy Wagner, John Maine, Pedro Martinez, Mark Mulder (2), Albert Pujols (2), Ben Sheets (2), Prince Fielder (2), Derek Jeter, Jason Giambi, Mariano Rivera, Chien-Ming Wang, Vladimir Guerrero, Garret Anderson, John Lackey, Chone Figgins, Jered Weaver, Casey Kotchman, Tom Gorzelanny, Xavier Nady, Derrek Lee, and Kerry Wood.  That is unbelievably good, and it’s typical for this product.

I’m happy with the Brandon Phillips autographed memorabilia card too.  It’s a nice red jersey piece and Phillips is a really great player.  He’s overlooked because he’s in the National League, which has a bunch of high-profile second basemen, and he plays for a small market team that isn’t very good.

The Luis Mendoza autograph, however, is absolutely terrible.  Check out his statistics.  7.37 ERA and 1.75 WHIP in the majors, and 4.57 ERA and 1.41 WHIP in the minors.  Seriously, Upper Deck, why does this guy deserve to be on any cards, let alone autographed cards?  There were plenty of good rookies this year who were much, much better than Mendoza.

I think it’s really funny that Upper Deck puts CONGRATULATIONS! on the back of every autograph and memorabilia card, even if it’s a horrible card.  I mean, people know how many “hits” to expect when they open a box.  It’s not like the early 1990s when there were astronomical odds of pulling an autograph.  We only need to be congratulated if the card is very good, maybe something that can only be found one per case, or something even more rare.  If I get a Luis Mendoza autograph, I’m going to be disappointed.  The CONGRATULATIONS! is kind of insulting.  So save the CONGRATULATIONS! for cards that people might actually want to have.

Anyway, here are some of the nicer cards that I received:

Eight Swatch Memorabilia front

Eight Swatch Memorabilia back

Eight Swatch Memorabilia back

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Dave,
    Again, another great video with perfect timing and a good pace. You’re a natural at this. To answer your question. Johnny Damon is in a Yankees uniform because I read somewhere that basically MLB requires that when companies like UD produce memorabilia cards, the team of the player they show has to be the same as the memorabilia jersey that they took it from. And that Mendoza card really does suck – I think it’s worse than the Noah Lowry card.

  2. I love the fact that Lowry’s card has “GIGANTES” instead of “GIANTS” on the front. BTW, how much does a box of Ballpark cost? Thanks, great break.

  3. Wow, that quad-Yankee card is great. If I mailed you a kidney, would that be enough for that and the Morneau?

    Nice looking stuff there. I almost picked up a pack at the card shop, but decided the $50 for the pack would be better invested in more packs of Upper Deck X. Stupid me.

  4. Dan – you can check eBay to see the current market prices, but I got mine for about 140 including shipping. I think it’s a great price considering that you get 12 “hits”. It’s the same price range as Triple Threads, which only gives you 2 hits!

  5. Eric – it would be pretty difficult for me to trade the Yankee quad card. It’s the first time I’ve gotten a Jeter relic, and it’s a great looking card! I highly recommend picking up a pack or box of this stuff. Go to eBay to get a better price than your hobby shop. I don’t think there’s any other product out there that gives you so many good hits for anywhere near the price.

  6. I wouldn’t trade it either, that card is awesome. The only pull I can brag about since getting back into collecting is an autographed 08 UD Baseball Heroes Cal Ripken 10/10. Otherwise, I’m pulling jersey cards of Joe Blanton and Freddy Sanchez. I may have to invest…

  7. I really like the look of the cards in Ballpark Collection as well. I was thinking of trying it out – how does it seem to go on a pack to pack basis? (Can’t YouTube at work, otherwise I’d just check that out).

  8. I can’t remember exactly what was in each pack without watching the video again, and I’m at work too, but you get 3 hits per pack, headlined by either an autograph, 6-swatch memorabilia card, or 8-swatch memorabilia card. Now that I think of it, a single pack gives you more hits than a box of Triple Threads!

  9. Thanks, that’s what I was thinking it must be. I’ll check the video out later to confirm.

  10. The invisible touch? Thats your soundtrack? Ha!

    Nice pulls man.

  11. Invisible Touch, Land of Confusion, and Tonight, Tonight, Tonight. Mid-1980s Genesis rules!

  12. Is this typical of a box of this stuff? Man, I’ve never seen so many quality pulls in one box ever. I’m definitely putting something back for a box of my own now… Great Video!!

  13. JV – yes, it’s typical from the other box breaks that I’ve seen.

  14. Has anyone ever received the 2008 ud ballpark collection derek jeter autographed jersey card. I redeemed mine in Nov. of ’08 and still have not received it yet


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

