More thoughts on Masterpieces

October 9, 2008 at 12:33 am | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 3 Comments

Thanks to everyone who watched my video box break of 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces and left comments!  I showed the video to my wife tonight, and she was absolutely shocked that there are people out there who enjoyed watching me open packs of baseball cards.  She tries to avoid watching me open cards even though she has the opportunity to watch in person…

Anyway, I wanted to add some written thoughts about Masterpieces.

Basically, for about the same price as a 2007 Masterpieces hobby box, you get two fewer memorabilia cards, you don’t get a jumbo card, and you get one fewer parallel (I got 7 in both of my 2007 hobby boxes, and 6 in my 2008 box).  You do get six short prints, which didn’t exist in the 2007 set.

Clearly, you don’t get as much bang for your buck this year.  I think that Upper Deck is taking advantage of the popularity of the brand.  Last year, Masterpieces was new, so they included three memorabilia cards per hobby box to entice people to buy it.  This year, the Masterpieces brand is established and already popular with collectors, and they figured that the brand itself is strong enough to sell the cards.  They’re probably right.  People really do love the portraits on the base cards, but it would be nice to get some more value.

I put my base cards in numerical order and discovered that they’re numbered by team this year.  So the first cards are Arizona Diamondbacks and the last cards are Washington Nationals.  Upper Deck does this for almost all of their sets and I wish that they wouldn’t.  I really like the random order, like 2007 Masterpieces had.  I also liked that there were more legendary players interspersed with the current players in 2007.  There are still some in 2008, but most of the retired players are now short prints.  Also, many of the 2007 cards featured classic baseball moments, while the 2008 cards seem to feature only random action shots.

Overall, I think that 2007 Masterpieces is superior to 2008.  I think it’ll still be a popular set among collectors, but Upper Deck should be careful not to get complacent.  If they don’t put out a strong Masterpieces set in 2009, they could really damage what is currently a very popular brand for the company.

Here’s my favorite base card; it’s actually a short print:

Here’s my autograph card, which is most definitely available for trade.  Also, Bailey from The Nennth Inning pointed out that Lowry was injured for all of this season and he just had another surgery that may keep him out for all of 2009 too:

And here is my memorabilia card of Justin Morneau, the 2008 Home Run Derby champion:

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. For some reason, I like the font for the Justin Monreau card (the font for Upper Deck and Masterpieces)

  2. Yeah, if the Morneau is up for trade, we should talk shop…

  3. Eric, sure I’d consider trading it. And I still owe you for the last group of cards you sent me. I’m sorry that it’s taking so long. But I’ll make it up to you by sending some good stuff!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

