New high end set from Topps coming soon

October 9, 2008 at 1:43 pm | Posted in Topps | 1 Comment

I don’t have many details yet, but my source on new card news tells me that Topps will be debuting a new high end baseball card set called 5 STAR in February 2009.  I don’t see any mention of it on any other card blogs yet, so I figured I’d post something about it.  I’m sure that we’ll see a full preview, complete with a checklist and a look at the cards, on Wax Heaven in the near future!

This new set will join Triple Threads and Sterling as Topps’ high end releases.  Personally, I agree with Gellman from Sports Cards Uncensored that Upper Deck is much better than Topps at producing high end (or to use the term coined by Gellman, “second world”) products.  Hopefully Topps will try to change that with 5 STAR.  I’m really hoping that it’s not just a rehash of Triple Threads with five relics per card instead of three.  We need something more creative than that!

To understand why Upper Deck is so much better with high end products, just look at my box break of Upper Deck Ballpark Collection from yesterday.  For about the same price (and maybe a little less) than a box of Triple Threads, you get 12 hits, including relics from some of the biggest stars in baseball.  In my box I got Derek Jeter, Albert Pujols, Johan Santana, and Vladimir Guerrero, just to name a few!  With Triple Threads, you get two hits per box.  Also, Upper Deck assures you that the relics in your cards are from actual Major League games, while Topps does not.

The way I see it, Topps is the better card company for “first world” sets that are good for set building, although Upper Deck is catching up in that department.  Upper Deck’s flagship set (Series 1 and 2) is far superior to Topps’ flagship set this year.  Topps makes up for it with Topps Heritage, Allen & Ginter, Topps Chrome, Bowman, and Bowman Chrome.  On the other hand, Upper Deck blows Topps out of the water in the “second world” of high end sets.  Topps has a lot of catching up to do.  We’ll soon see if the new 5 STAR set will help…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I agree that Topps is more for the set builders.

    The last Topps I bought was a box of Allen & Ginter. The product was nice, but nothing to write home about.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

