To the winner go the spoils!

October 13, 2008 at 2:10 am | Posted in Blogs, My Cards, Rays, Trades | 4 Comments

Before the American League Divisional Series between the Rays and the White Sox began, Steve from the White Sox Cards blog and I made a friendly bet.  If the White Sox had won, I would have sent some White Sox “hits” to Steve, and if when the Rays won, Steve would send some Rays cards to me.

We all know how the series turned out.  I really enjoyed checking Steve’s blog every day to get his perspective on the games.  Even though his team lost, I was impressed by Steve’s classiness as a fan.  He never resorted to the sort of trash talking of the opposition that occurs so frequently on the internet.  I wish the best of luck to Steve’s Sox in 2009!

Yesterday, I received my winnings in the mail.  Here’s what I got:

  • 2007 Turkey Red Akinori Iwamura rookie card – I never collected Turkey Red, but I might go back and purchase a box someday – I like the retro look.
  • 2008 Upper Deck First Edition Troy Percival – Percy was one of my favorite Rays in the first half of the year – here’s hoping that he can come back healthy and effective for the World Series!
  • 2007 Topps Finest Delmon Young – I would have loved this card a year ago – Delmon made a huge contribution to the Rays 2008 team by being the main guy they traded to Minnesota for Matt Garza and Jason Bartlett!
  • 2008 Upper Deck First Edition Starquest Carlos Pena – Sweet!  Although they’re very 90s-looking, I really like the looks of Starquest cards…
  • 2008 Upper Deck First Edition Akinori Iwamura – Next time you watch a Rays home game (it’ll probably be Game 6 of the ALCS), listen to how enthusiastically the P.A. announcer says Aki’s name.  I think I’m going to start saying it that way…
  • 2008 Upper Deck Heroes black parallel Scott Kazmir card – I always like getting Kazmir cards – it’s clear that the picture on it is from the same photo shoot as Kazmir’s Upper Deck Series 2 card – an action shot would’ve been nice.

And now the hits…

  • 2007 Fleer Ultra Autograph card of Brian Stokes #062/349 – Seeing Stokes on this card makes me smile for a bunch of reasons:
    • Stokes was a favorite of mine when he pitched for the Durham Bulls – it seemed like he was pitching almost every time I went to a Bulls game in 2006.
    • Stokes was born exactly one day before I was – on September 7, 1979.
    • Stokes had a 7.08 ERA for the Rays in 2007, and he was a member of the bullpen all year!  If you’re wondering how the Rays team bullpen ERA improved from 6.16 to 3.55 between 2007 and 2008, Stokes’ departure is a major reason…
    • Stokes seems to have had a good season for the Mets in 2008, and I’m happy that he’s been able to salvage something of a career.
    • And if you’re wondering, yes, there is a note of CONGRATULATIONS! on the back of the card!
  • 2007 Bowman “Signs of the Future” Autograph card of Chris Seddon – Seeing Seddon on this card makes me smile because:
    • When he pitched for the Durham Bulls, I frequently observed that he looked almost exactly like one of my friends who often goes with me to Bulls games.
    • Seddon was once considered one of the (Devil) Rays’ top pitching prospects.  That was when the Rays were short on good pitching prospects.  Once the new front office began to change that and Seddon was surpassed by a bunch of other guys, he was placed on waivers and picked up by the Marlins.
    • Seddon is one of only two players that I can think of who played for both the Durham Bulls and the Carolina Mudcats since I moved to North Carolina in 2001.  The other is Johnny Raburn.

And now the big hit…

  • 2007 Tristar Evan Longoria authentic game-worn uniform card!  The card features Longoria with the Double-A Montgomery Biscuits and the uniform piece is from a Biscuits uniform:

This is the first minor league game-used card of Evan Longoria that I’ve owned and I’m thrilled to have it!  My Longoria collection has been growing quickly.  I’m planning to devote a page on this blog to it soon, complete with scans of each card.

So thanks, Steve!  I hope that both of our teams are in the playoffs again next year so that we can make another bet.  And even though your White Sox lost, I’m planning to send you some White Sox cards anyway.

Now that it’s ALCS time, I have a card bet with Joe from Cardboard Addiction, and I can’t wait to collect my winnings from that bet!

Hopefully I’ll be working out a deal with either Stale Gum or Night Owl Cards after that…

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You have a deal if we both make it that far. But I’ll have to work on my Rays collection to match what Steve got you.

  2. I pulled at least two Longoria’s the other day that I’ll be sending your way soon…

  3. Glad you liked the cards! We’ll definitely have to make another bet next year if our teams face each other in the postseason.

    I’m glad the Longoria went to someone who will really appreciate it.

  4. Steve always puts great packages together – that Longoria card is sweet.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

