Card Wagers

October 28, 2008 at 1:21 am | Posted in Blogs, Trades | 3 Comments

One of the fun things about the Rays postseason run has been that I’ve gotten to make some card bets with bloggers who are fans of the Rays’ opponents.  For the ALDS, I made a bet with Steve from White Sox Cards.  If you haven’t already, you can see the outcome of that here.  For the ALCS, my betting partner was Joe from Cardboard Addiction.  The terms were that if the Rays won, he’d send some Rays “hits” to me and if the Red Sox won, I’d send some Red Sox “hits” to him.  I got Joe’s package today, and I was blown away by his generosity!  There will be a post, and maybe even a YouTube video, sometime soon (probably after the World Series ends) to show you what I got from Joe.  I will also be sending consolation prizes to both Steve and Joe in the near future.

Before the World Series started last week I ended up making two bets with Phillies fans.  Unfortunately it’s looking like I’ll be the one on the losing end this time.  First I made a bet with the guy who runs Jawdy’s Basement.  I really upped the ante with him; we’re betting a hobby box of 2008 Bowman Chrome.  I also made a bet with Paul from the Phungo blog.  We’re betting a couple of hobby packs of either Donruss Threads or Topps Stadium Club, plus the loser will write a guest post about the winning team on the winner’s blog.  So you can probably look forward to reading something from me on Phungo soon, and I’ll also have a couple of packages to mail out – unless of course, the Rays can turn this thing around!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dave check your email – I just sent you some time sensitive Rays information.

  2. That’s a great idea about the loser writing a post for the winner’s blog. Really cool. I can’t wait to see how that turns out…

    …when the Rays come from behind and smoke the Phils….haha…No, seriously…come on Rays!!

  3. It looks bleak – that is true my friend….and tomorrow night the place will be rocking as the first EVER 3.5 inning World Series game gets going…the momentum has moved a lot with this mother nature crap but I am still sure we will take care of business and win this thing!!! GOOD LUCK!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

