Congratulations to the Phillies!

October 29, 2008 at 11:54 pm | Posted in Baseball, Rays, World Series | 9 Comments

Well, it’s over now.  The Philadelphia Phillies have defeated the Tampa Bay Rays to win the 2008 World Series.  I smile as I type that, knowing that the Rays had an amazingly successful season beyond my wildest dreams, and that the Phillies are an incredibly deserving World Champion team.

For the last few years, I’ve thought that the Phillies were a very talented team that was on the cusp of greatness.  It seemed that they were only a few players away from becoming an elite team.  I have to admit that I didn’t think of them as a World Champion during the regular season, and I even foolishly predicted that they would lose to Milwaukee in the NLDS.  I knew that they had the star power – Chase Utley, Ryan Howard, Jimmy Rollins, and Cole Hamels, but it was their supporting cast – guys like Jayson Werth, Shane Victorino, Carlos Ruiz, Brad Lidge, and Jamie Moyer, that put them over the top this year.  They were clearly the better team in the World Series and now they are champions.

There probably isn’t any fan base that deserves a championship more than the Philadelphia fans.  This is the Phillies’ first World Series championship in 28 years, and the first championship for any Philadelphia team in 25 years.  I was friends with a lot of people from Philly when I was at Penn State, and I know that everyone from that area is a die-hard fan of all four of their teams.  I hope that they enjoy that parade down Broad Street that they’re always talking about!

Now we sadly must endure a long winter without baseball.  2008 will go down as my favorite baseball season of all time.  Not only did my favorite team surprise everybody by going from being the worst team in baseball to the World Series, but I also rediscovered my love for baseball card collecting for the first time in 14 years.  And I started this blog and shared my thoughts on both the baseball season and the baseball card hobby with some really great people.  Years from now, I’ll be able to look back on these posts and fondly relive my memories of the 2008 Rays season and my return to collecting.

With the season ending, the focus of the blog will shift from my constant posts about the Rays postseason (which surprisingly seem to have been quite popular) back to my opinions on the baseball card hobby.  You can look forward to video box breaks of every hobby box that I open.  Either this weekend or early next week, you’ll see me open new boxes of Bowman Chrome, Upper Deck Masterpieces, and Donruss Threads.  And I will be sharing the huge amount of thoughts that have been circling in my head about how the card industry can be improved.

We’ve got 3 1/2 months to go before pitchers and catchers report for 2009 spring training, but there will be lots of excitement in the coming months here at Fielder’s Choice Baseball Card Blog!

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OMG man….OMG….Euphoria…that’s all I can say. The drought is over. The Rays are going to be insanely good for a LONG time if they keep em together but this was OUR YEAR and I am in shock… I cried like a baby at the last out and my 8 year old son was here with me screaming and carrying on the whole time. What a night. What a season. WHAT A FEELING!!! I will e-mail my address to you so you can send the box and I want your address too cause I have some stuff ready to send you as well. Congrats on a great season, Dave. You should be proud as hell. I am looking forward to sharing some great video breaks over the next few months as we head towards Spring Training 2009!!

  2. I also predicted theyre gnnna win it all and Yes, congrats to the phillies and their fans… but imo. they shouldnt be called World champions by beating out a bunch of teams in north america. how is that WORLD champions.
    my thoughts http://jib-sports-culture.blogspot.com/

  3. Really gracious and well said, Dave. Kind of crazy how fast the season goes, isn’t it?

  4. Jawdy – Congrats!

    JH – Show me a team from outside of North America that can beat the Phillies and then I’ll agree with you.

  5. Wow, you guys have a cool team. Next year if they’re in it (which they should be) and my Phil’s aren’t, I’ll be pulling for the Rays. Congrats on a great season.

  6. Good post Dave. I’m sure the 3 1/2 months will go much faster for you being a Rays fan than me, being a Cubs fan. Ugh!

  7. Gracious in defeat. You are a class act Dave.

  8. I was pulling for the Rays, mostly because I wanted to see a post of pure joy pour out of Dave so that I could live vicariously through it. So in that respect I’m disapointed.

    On the other hand, I really can’t find anything NOT to like about the Phillies and Philadelphia, so I’m very happy for them, especially Charlie. (I was a little disheartened at the booing of Bud Selig. The man makes some bad calls but he loves the game and he does his best.) Philly is a great fan base and they definately deserved this.

    I do feel obligated to say that, in my completely biased opinion, the fan base in Cleveland “deserves” a champ more than anyone at this point. But, as Clint Eastwood would say “Deserve’s got nothing to do with it.”

    So I’m jealous, but this year at least, it’s also mixed with happiness and good feelings for the champ.

    Great post Dave.

  9. Another great post. It is always tough to summarize a game or series when it doesn’t go your way, especially when it’s the last series of the season. The Rays have truly arrived and will not be sneaking up on anyone. They certainly should get a little more ESPN exposure next year – and maybe improved attendance and post-season ratings.

    I am not ready to think ahead yet but hopefully 2009 will provide a rematch.

    Go Phils!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

