Remembering all that’s good about collecting

October 29, 2008 at 1:50 am | Posted in My Cards, Trades | 5 Comments

You may have read about a recent card trade that I made with Patricia and Lucy from Dinged Corners.  Let me reassure you that I’m not from the planet of Krypton and I don’t live in the Fortress of Solitude.  I don’t even have any superpowers (at least that I know about yet).

I’ve been meaning to share what I got from the girls in New Mexico in the deal.  First, I got a letter from Lucy, which is one of the coolest things that I’ve received in any trade.  It is great to see kids get excited about baseball and collecting baseball cards.  I love reading Patricia and Lucy’s perspective on collecting at Dinged Corners because it really does bring me back to all that is good about collecting.  And this was one of my wife’s favorite things that I’ve gotten in a trade.  She’s a third grade teacher, so she loves anything related to kids.  Anyway, here’s a scan of the letter:

I’ve answered Lucy’s questions already, but in case anyone else wants to know, my cat’s name is Lady.  She’s a 12-year old Maine Coon cat.  My wife adopted her a little while after we started dating in early 2004.  Even though she started out as my wife’s cat, Lady has grown to love me even more than her!  Here’s a picture of us (it is impossible to get her to look in the direction of the camera):

The answer to Lucy’s other question is that I love living in North Carolina.  Since I grew up in New York State and went to college in Pennsylvania, I am very appreciative of the warm weather that we get down here.  We’re close to the beach and not far from the mountains.  On top of that, the Raleigh-Durham area is one of the fastest growing areas in the country and there are a ton of good companies and great universities here.  Plus, we have lots of sports teams around.  We have an NHL hockey team, two minor league baseball teams (and others that are close by), and three of the best college basketball programs in the nation (although I’m not a basketball fan).

I also got a big stack of Rays cards from Lucy and Patricia.  Here are a few of my favorites:

2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces

2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces

I didn’t get this card from my Masterpieces hobby box.  It’s a great portrait of C.C., although it would be nice if the artist had painted a new Rays uniform on him.  It has been almost a year since the change.

2006 Bowman Heritage

2006 Bowman Heritage

This is an Andy Sonnanstine rookie card.  It’s actually a “prospect card” from 2006.  At the time that the card came out, Sonny was still pitching in Double-A, leading the Montgomery Biscuits to the Southern League championship.

2008 Tristar Projections

2008 Tristar Projections

Despite the very unhappy look on Wade Davis’ face, I’m thrilled to get this card.  Everybody knows about David Price, but Davis isn’t very far behind him on the prospect radar.  He’d easily be the #1 pitching prospect in most team’s organizations.  He should be ready to join the Rays in early 2009, but he may have to join the bullpen since the starting rotation will be so crowded.

2007 Bowman

2007 Bowman

Speaking or prospect cards, here’s one of Reid Brignac, one of the top shortstop prospects in all of baseball.  It’ll be interesting to see if Brignac can beat out Jason Bartlett for the starting shortstop job next year.  He plays above average defense and he’s capable of putting up big power numbers.  Brignac and Evan Longoria formed a dominant left side of the infield together in Single-A and Double-A.  Hopefully they can replicate that success in the majors!

So thanks to Patricia and Lucy for a terrific trade!

By the way, I will be revamping the Trading Corner on the blog in the near future.  I’ll be adding a few new sets that I’m collecting and I’ll be listing Rays cards that I need.  So if you’ve been thinking of offering me a trade, it’s probably best to wait until after I update it…

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Patricia and Lucy always put together some awesome packages!

    Lady looks like an awesome cat. Maybe I’ll have to sneak my cat on the blog in the near future.

  2. P&L are as thoughtful as they come — not just in the cards they send but in the personalized notes, drawings, etc. I enjoyed my package very much. And thanks to P&L, so did my daughter.

  3. Nice package, and nice cat. My cats always pretend they are going to look at the camera, and then with perfect timing – look away right before I snap the picture. Its uncanny.

  4. “Lady” looks like a beauty. I love Maine Coon cats. You can see mine here if you like:
    http://kliewerstudio-artstudies.blogspot.com/2008/02/provena
    nce-in-studio.html

    But mine is a painting I did of my “Pepper”. The picture will open to a large view if you want to see it close up. He was a beauty too, weighing 20 lbs at full growth. I painted him looking away. My choice, not his. 😉

  5. Of all the things that Connor received for his birthday I was most excited to get a picture drawn by Lucy! I agree, this kind of stuff is priceless.

    Thank you Lucy for being such an awesome collector! Although, you’re one in a million, the world could do for a million more of you.

    Great post, Dave!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

