2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces Hobby Box Break #2

November 7, 2008 at 10:52 pm | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck, Video | 10 Comments

As promised, here is the first of three new box breaks that I’ve recently done.  It’s my second hobby box of 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces.  You can check out the first one here, and my thoughts about Masterpieces here.  Anyway, you gotta watch this new break to see the amazing surprise hit that I got:

Here’s the breakdown of what I got:

  • 56 base cards – I now have 73 out of 90 – and still no Longoria!
  • 6 short prints – amazingly 5 of the 6 were the same as the ones I got in the last box, so I still only have 7 out of 30
  • 4 black border parallels
  • 1 red border parallel – Hunter Pence
  • 1 “bronze ore” border parallel (123/125) – Randy Johnson
  • 4 Yankee Stadium Legacy cards
  • 1 “Captured on Canvas” memorabilia card – Francisco Rodriguez
  • 1 “Stroke of Genius” autograph card – watch the video to find out who!

I’ll be uploading my two other recent box breaks, Bowman Chrome and Donruss Threads, to YouTube this weekend.  Enjoy!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Interested in the Pence Red, the Oswalt base, Berkman base, and, well, any other Astros base that you want to unload on me. 🙂

    Just tell me a team, and I’ll ship you some base and a random parallel and a few inserts or something. (Presuming Rays?)

  2. That is absolutely heartbreaking! Sheer insanity. I don’t even know what to say about that. I’ve been wanting to get a second box so I can finally get the Mattingly base even though I’ve bought most of the parallels off eBay.

  3. Don’t know if my first comment went through,but I could use the Berkman and Oswalt base and the Pence Red-bordered, as well as any extra Astros base you’ve got about. Give me a team and I’ll ship you some cards.

  4. Pete – I’ll send you my extra Mattingly…

    Houston Collector – I’d be happy to send those cards to you. I am a Rays fan, but I’ve received so many Rays cards recently that I’d prefer to get cards I need to complete the Masterpieces set or for other sets that I’m trying to complete. I’ll be updating my Trading Corner page with my needs soon.

  5. Hey Dave,
    So funny and sad at the same time about the Lowery auto. I will take one off your hands if you want to trade for something. I have a Cliff Floyd card when he was on the Mets I think or Florida, I’m not sure if you would want that, let me know.

  6. I’ll take a look. Don’t have much 08 Masterpieces.

  7. Oh man…just like my Chrome box!! Looks like the baseball card gods are not looking happily on us World Series guys!! Product is awesome and I am busting a box this coming week….if I get Lowery I am going to laugh my ass off…

  8. I am trying to complete the masterpiece set as well. If you can send a list of the cards you need I will see if I have any doubles to trade if your interested.

  9. Similar auto pulls happened to me. I got a Brandon Phillips patch auto in one box, then a Phillips auto in the other.

  10. The good: Jorge Posada and Joe Mauer

    The bad: Pulling a double of your Lowry auto

    The ugly: Papelbon – loved the comments on him, because I can’t stand the guy either. What a turd.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

