Winnings from ALCS bet with Cardboard Addiction

November 19, 2008 at 1:56 am | Posted in Blogs, My Cards, Video | 1 Comment

Right before the ALCS started back in October, I made a friendly card bet with Joe from Cardboard Addiction.  Joe is a big fan of the Red Sox, and I’m a big fan of the Rays.  He sent my victory package a few weeks ago and I was blown away by his generosity.  He sent me much more in quantity and quality than I was expecting.  There were 101 cards in the package, including 4 autographs, 1 autographed relic card, and 2 non-autographed relic cards.  The only downside was that I knew it would be a huge task to write a post about all of the great cards that he sent.  For that reason, I decided to make a video to show off the cards.  Here it is:

The “hits” were:

  • 2006 Bowman Chrome Matt Garza autographed X-fractor (120/225)
  • 2005 Upper Deck Ultimate B.J. Upton autograph
  • 2005 Bowman’s Best Jeff Niemann autograph (068/399)
  • 2007 Topps Chrome Shawn Riggans autograph
  • 2007 Upper Deck Elements Jonny Gomes autographed relic card (271/350)
  • 2007 Upper Deck SPx James Shields relic card (118/175)
  • 2007 Upper Deck Elements Jorge Cantu dual relic card

He also sent a huge assortment of Devil Rays and Rays cards ranging from their first season of 1998 through 2008.  There were a few Evan Longoria cards, Carl Crawford, B.J. Upton, Scott Kazmir, and many more from the current team, and legends like Wade Boggs, Fred McGriff, Greg Vaughn, and Jose Canseco.  It was great to see so many different players from both the good times and the bad.  Plus, a lot of the older cards were new to me, since I wasn’t actively collecting before this year.

Joe also threw in five packs of 2006 Fleer Ultra.  He might have just used the packs as packing material, but I decided to open them on video.  I didn’t get anything earth-shattering, but if you’re curious, here it is:

I scanned some of my favorite cards from the package:

2006 Bowman Chrome X-fractor autograph (120/225)

2006 Bowman Chrome X-fractor autograph (120/225)

2005 Upper Deck Ultimate

2005 Upper Deck Ultimate

niemann_best

2005 Bowman’s Best (068/399)

2007 Upper Deck SPx (118/175)

2007 Upper Deck SPx (118/175)

2008 Topps Updates & Highlights

2008 Topps Updates & Highlights

2006 Bowman Heritage mini

2006 Bowman Heritage mini

So thanks again to Joe for an extremely generous victory package.  I recently sent a few cards to Joe as a consolation prize.  Maybe we’ll get to make another bet in the 2009 postseason…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glad you enjoyed them Dave. I actually had fun putting it together. The only problem I have now is a few of my tables in the house are wobbling because I have no old Rays cards to stuff under the legs! I got your cards the other day. I will be posting them soon. All I will say is, if that’s a second place prize, I’ll take second every year!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

