What parallels are these?

November 20, 2008 at 6:09 pm | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 2 Comments

I was organizing my Don Mattingly cards last night and I became very confused about a couple of parallels that I have.  I’m hoping that some readers can help me to identify which type of parallel they are.

First is this parallel numbered to 299 from 2008 Upper Deck Heroes:

mattingly_heroes_299

This parallel is odd because it seems to be the exact same color as the base Heroes card, with the only difference being that it happens to be serial numbered.  Here’s the base card for comparison:

mattingly_heroes

Obviously, it’s incredibly dumb for the only difference between a parallel and a base card to be the serial number on the parallel.  Still, I wanted to know what type of parallel this was.  So I wandered over to the 2008 Heroes set home page on Upper Deck’s web site.  As an aside, I have to say that Upper Deck’s web site is about a billion times more useful than the Topps web site.  Anyway, I learned that there are 10 different types of parallels in the set, which is absurd.  There’s Emerald, Black, Beige, Red, Navy Blue, Brown, Sea Green, Light Blue, Purple, and Charcoal.  The only colors that could describe my card are beige and brown.  However, the beige are numbered out of 200, and the brown are numbered out of 75.  There are actually none listed that are numbered out of 299.  The emerald comes closest; they are numbered out of 300.  But emerald is a green color, and my card is clearly not green.  So what exactly is this?  Can anyone help?

I’m also wondering about the blue-bordered Masterpieces card that Bailey sent to me.  I wrote about it here.  The card is numbered 2/5.  Again, I went to Upper Deck’s web site and found the 2008 Masterpieces set home page.  Again, I found that there are 10 different types of parallels for Masterpieces: Deep Blue Linen, Red Linen, Bronze Ore, Ionized, Urban Gray, Hades, Forest Green Linen, Persian Blue Linen, Serious Black, and Pinot Red.  At first glance, it looks like this card might be Deep Blue or Persian Blue, but the Deep Blue cards are unnumbered, and the Persian Blue are numbered out of 10.  The Serious Black (which sounds like a cheap ripoff of the Harry Potter character, Sirius Black) cards are numbered out of 5.  But this card is clearly not black:

mattingly_masterpieces_blue

So what type of parallel is this?  Any help would be appreciated.  I have a spreadsheet where I list every post-2000 Don Mattingly card that I own (I use an old Beckett checklist for the pre-2000 cards) and I’d like to be able to accurately list these parallel cards.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The first one is a beige parallel. Not sure where it would happen to be on UD’s site, but Beckett has it as the only parallel /299.

    For the second card, Beckett has a ‘Blue 5’ parallel which is serial numbered out of 5. They just identify the parallels with the colour and the serial number, which doesn’t help to find it on UD’s checklist, but makes infinitely more sense than trying to figure out what the difference is between Persian Blue and Deep Blue. I’d be inclined to think that is Persian Blue.

    UD’s checklists are often wrong on serial numbering. I think sometimes they change the print runs, and then have to adjust the serial numbering to match. Beckett search results list the serial numbering in list view, which is very helpful for sets like Masterpieces or some of the terrible Pacific sets from the late 90s, early 2000s….

  2. I’d have to guess the first Heroes card is a beige parallel as well as the beige is definitely /299. But unless your scan is off, then the color of your beige Mattingly is off. It looks too close to the color of the base Mattingly. I have a couple beige parallel Dodgers and the beige is defintely a deeper brown than the base card (which, by the way, I detest).


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

