You won’t believe what I got from a Stadium Club blaster!

November 24, 2008 at 1:23 am | Posted in My Cards, Topps, Video | 9 Comments

A few days ago, I wrote a post to showcase a few new Evan Longoria cards that I had gotten from eBay auctions.  One of the cards was a Topps Stadium Club autograph card.  I commented about what a ripoff the Stadium Club hobby boxes are.  You pay around $200 for 12 really crappy autographs.  On the other hand, the base cards are very nice, featuring some great photography, so I thought that I’d pick up a retail blaster or two if I saw them for sale.

Then, on Friday morning, I was in Target and decided to check out the cards.  Sure enough, they had Stadium Club blasters, so I bought one and took it home.  I thought about doing a video box break of the blaster, but I decided against it.  I’ve never video taped a blaster box break, and I wasn’t sure that anyone would be interested in watching it.  So I opened the packs in solitude.  Everything was going as expected until I got to the 7th pack out of the 8 packs in the blaster.  It was in that pack that I pulled an Evan Longoria autograph card – the exact same one that I had purchased on eBay!

I was absolutely elated.  This was by far the best card that I’ve ever pulled from a retail pack, and it’s even better than just about anything I’ve pulled from a hobby pack!  Longoria is pretty much the best autograph that you can get in Stadium Club, and on top of that, he’s my favorite player.  It would’ve been even nicer if I didn’t already have the card, but now I can sell my extra copy on eBay.

After the thrill of getting the Longoria autograph in the blaster, I headed back to Target to buy a second blaster.  I did film the second one and posted it on YouTube:

As you can see, there wasn’t anything nearly as great in the second blaster.  Still, I really do like the Stadium Club product.  The base cards are very, very nice.  Topps did a great job with the photography on the cards.  It was the excellent photography that made the original Stadium Club cards stand out in the early 1990s, and that was the main reason why Ryan from Trader Crack’s Card Blog started the campaign to bring back Stadium Club earlier this year.  I think that if collectors stay away from the overpriced hobby version of Stadium Club and stick with the retail version, they’ll be very happy with the set.  I just wish that there were more than 150 base cards to collect!

By the way, each $19.99 blaster contains 8 packs with 5 cards per pack.  Each hobby box contains 12 packs with 5 cards per pack.  So unless you really want 12 mostly worthless autographs, it’s easy to see why the retail blasters are a ridiculously better value.

Here are some of my favorite cards besides the Longoria autograph from my two blasters.

First, a “First Day Issue” parallel of Evan Longoria.  I absolutely love the photo on this card:

stadium_club_longoria

Here is the “Photographer’s Proof” parallel card of Torii Hunter, numbered 30/50.  Did you ever notice how Torii Hunter looks almost excessively happy on his cards:

stadium_club_hunter

Here’s the base card of B.J. Upton.  I really like this card for two reasons.  It shows the strange thing that B.J. does with his left leg right before he swings, and it’s one of the few cards in any set that features a photo that was clearly taken inside Tropicana Field:

stadium_club_upton

And finally, you gotta love this amazing photo of Roberto Clemente in his prime.  It almost looks like it could’ve been taken this year:

stadium_club_clemente

Bottom line: Stadium Club rules, but it’s one of the very rare sets (this year’s Topps Chrome is another) where buying retail gives you more value than buying hobby!

One more thing – in the video, I mentioned that I had read on a blog that the photo on the Manny Ramirez card was actually taken at Fenway Park and it was Photoshop’ed to look like Dodger Stadium.  I want to give credit to Cardboard Icons for that.  You can read the post about it here.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I call shenanigans. 🙂

  2. Hey, I need that Clemente …

  3. Man, that Clemente ROCKS! Awesome card! Of course Hunter is smiling – he’s making a bazillion dollars to play baseball! Frankly, anyone who makes it to the Bigs should be smiling. I know I would be!

  4. I was pretty thrilled my pulls out of SC blasters — an auto and a redemption. Still nothing compared to a Longoria auto though! Sweet pull!

  5. Dave, does that make up for Noah Lowry?

  6. freeandylaroche – I just saw your post about your blasters – looks like your auto and redemption weren’t great, but it’s still nice to pull any sort of auto from retail!

    Joe – it’s certainly better than the Lowry auto’s that I pulled. But this is Topps and that was Upper Deck, so it doesn’t really make up for it.

  7. Hey Dave – that’s amazing. I don’t know if you caught my latest blaster video – also Target – when I pulled a 1/1 from Topps Updates & Highlights. A 1/1 from RETAIL. Retail is alive and well my friend!!!! Nice pull.

  8. I just watched your video, Jawdy – that is awesome! Target is the place to go 🙂

  9. I bought some blaster boxes from Target today and I got an auto from Brent Lilibridge. I have some doubles if anybody wants to trade. I have 65 out of the 150 to complete the set. Let me know –


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

