Happy Thanksgiving!

November 27, 2008 at 1:34 pm | Posted in Holidays | Leave a comment

Today is Thanksgiving, and there’s no better card to celebrate with than my 1992 Don Mattingly Mr. Turkey Superstar card!

mattingly_mr_turkey

Seriously though, Thanksgiving is a time that I usually think about all of the things that I’m thankful for in my life.  Here are a few:

  • I’m thankful for the many great baseball card blogs that I have enjoyed reading this year, and for all of the readers of my blog.  Blogging about cards has been a very fun experience, thanks to the great blogging community that we have.
  • I’m thankful for everyone who I’ve made trades with this year, including Dan from Saints of the Cheap Seats, Adam from Thoughts and Sox, and Larry from YouTube (check out his channel here).  I received packages from them on Tuesday and Wednesday.  I’m working on some posts to show what I received from them and packages to send out to them.
  • I’m thankful for the Tampa Bay Rays for having the unbelievable season that they had.  It was more fun to be a baseball fan this year than ever before.  I’ll never forget how amazing it was to see them win the A.L. East, beat the White Sox in the ALDS, beat the Red Sox in the ALCS, and reach the World Series.
  • I’m thankful for the Philadelphia Phillies for winning the World Series.  Yes, you read that right.  Honestly, it wouldn’t have felt right for the Rays to win it all in their first season of being a decent team.  The Phillies fans have been waiting for a championship for much longer.  And now, the Rays still have one more goal to achieve – winning the 2009 World Series.
  • I’m thankful to the Penn State Nittany Lions for their incredible 11-1 season.  I’m not so thankful for the Iowa Hawkeyes.  I really believe that PSU could beat any team in the nation this year, and it’s a travesty that they can’t prove it because college football has its asinine bowl games instead of playoffs.
  • I’m thankful to Topps, Upper Deck, and Donruss too, for the cards that they’ve produced this year.  Some have been great and some have been horrible, but without all of this year’s card sets, what would we have to blog about?  And how else would we be able to entertain ourselves?
  • I’m thankful for my wife, my cat, all of my family, my friends, my health, my job, my house, and all of my baseball cards.  I’m thankful to be a citizen of the United States of America and the state of North Carolina.
  • And I’m thankful that I’m spending Thanksgiving at home this year instead of traveling.  We’re going to my wife’s grandmother’s house this afternoon, which is only 20 minutes away.

So Happy Thanksgiving to everyone out there.  I’ll be back tomorrow.  And oh yeah, I’m happy that Santa Claus will be coming to town in less than a month!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

