A mother load of cards from YouTuber Larry

December 1, 2008 at 11:45 pm | Posted in My Cards, Trades | 1 Comment

Recently, I was contacted by a friendly guy from YouTube named Larry.  He had watched my Donruss Threads box break videos, and he offered to send me the two base cards that I was missing from Threads and some other cards that I needed for sets that I’m building.  You can check out his videos on YouTube here.  So I gave him my address and then I was absolutely blown away when I received a package from him on Wednesday, the day before Thanksgiving.

Here’s what I got in the mother load of cards from Larry:

  • The two Donruss Threads that I needed (George Bush and Angel Villalona) to complete my Threads base set.
  • The last two cards that I needed to complete my 2008 Upper Deck Series 2 set – the elusive Steve Trachsel (#428) and Freddy Sanchez (#619).
  • Robinson Cano and Reggie Jackson (short print) from 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces.
  • Bruce Jenner Sport Royalty short print from 2008 Goudey.
  • Three cards that I needed for my 2008 Topps Heritage set: Chin-Lung Hu (#130), Matt Chico & Jason Bergmann “Pitching Partners” (#291), and Rick Ankiel black back (#324).
  • 66 cards from 2008 Bowman that I needed (19 base cards, 31 prospect cards, and 16 chrome prospect cards).  That completes my Bowman base set and takes a huge chunk off of my want lists for the prospect cards and chrome prospect cards!

As if completing three sets for me and giving me a bunch of cards that I needed for other sets wasn’t enough, Larry also threw in a pile of Rays cards:

  • 2001 Fleer Focus Fred McGriff
  • 2001 Upper Deck Minor League Josh Hamilton (Orlando Rays)
  • 2001 Upper Deck Minor League checklist – Joe DiMaggio & Josh Hamilton
  • 2002 Fleer Authentix Greg Vaughn
  • 2007 Bowman Chrome prospect cards of Shawn O’Malley, Reid Brignac, Brian Henderson, Brandon Mann, Tony Peguero, and Desmond Jennings
  • 2007 Bowman Chrome refractor Andy Sonnanstine
  • 2007 Upper Deck SP Rookie Edition Carl Crawford, Scott Kazmir, and B.J. Upton – it’s funny because none of them were rookies, but I do really like the design of this set
  • 2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot “Sweet Swatch” memorabilia cards of Carl Crawford and Scott Kazmir
  • 2008 Bowman Chrome B.J. Upton and Jeff Niemann
  • 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights Scott Kazmir All-Star
  • 2008 Tristar Projections Nick Barnese
  • 2008 Upper Deck Piece of History Gold Parallel card of Carl Crawford (#35/75)

Not only that, but he also included two Prince Fielder cards: a “Box Score Memories” card from 2008 Piece of History #294/699, which features the box score from the game on 6/17/07 in which he hit a home run, and a 2008 SP Authentic card.

Rounding out the package were two great Don Mattingly Diamond King cards from 2008 Donruss Threads, the regular Diamond King and a parallel #011/250.  Now I won’t have to go to eBay to get these cards!

For those of you scoring at home, that’s a total of 101 cards – almost enough to fill Don West’s swimming pool!

Here are scans of some of my favorites:

2001 Upper Deck Minor League

2001 Upper Deck Minor League

2007 Bowman Chrome Refractor

2007 Bowman Chrome Refractor

2007 Upper Deck SP Rookie Edition

2007 Upper Deck SP Rookie Edition

2008 Donruss Threads Diamond King

2008 Donruss Threads Diamond King

2008 Upper Deck Piece of History Gold #35/75

2008 Upper Deck Piece of History Gold #35/75

2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot "Sweet Swatch"

2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot "Sweet Swatch"

2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot "Sweet Swatch"

2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot "Sweet Swatch"

So I send out a huge thanks to Larry!  I am working on a package of cards to send to him in return for his generosity.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Those Sweet Swatch cards are, well, sweeet.

    “YouTuber Larry” sounds like you are calling Larry a potato.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

