A “High Point” in card trading

December 7, 2008 at 2:42 am | Posted in Blogs, My Cards, Trades | 1 Comment

I’m a big fan of the Dropped Third Strike blog, which is written by Pete in High Point, North Carolina (about 80 miles from me), and Kimaloo’s Cards, which is written by his girlfriend Kim.  Pete and I have a lot in common – we’re both huge Don Mattingly collectors, we’re both Northern transplants living in North Carolina, and we both got our significant others interested in card collecting.  OK, so the last point isn’t really true – Pete has been successful at getting Kim interested in cards, while my wife Rebecca could care less about cards.  Oh well, at least she tolerates my hobby…

Anyway, I’ve made several card trades with Pete.  I can even claim credit as the very first person that he traded cards with through the mail.  And I’m not sure, but I think I might have been the first person that Kim traded with too.  I traded with both of them back before they even had blogs.  I received a package of cards from Pete earlier this week, which I think was in return for some Don Mattingly cards that I recently sent to him.  Here’s what I got:

A Don Mattingly parallel from 2008 Upper Deck Heroes, which I assume is the “brown” parallel, #097/149:

mattingly_heroes_brown

Carl Crawford from 2008 SP Legendary Cuts, one of my favorite sets of the year:

crawford_legendary_cuts

Three cards from Topps Updates & Highlights: Jason Bartlett (UH43), Evan Longoria & A-Rod Classic Combos (UH124, which I just received from Eric), and Evan Longoria’s base card (UH10) which I needed:

longoria_uh_base

The letters are gold on this card, and they’re silver on all of the other Updates & Highlights cards that I’ve seen.  Does anyone know if this is some type of parallel?  It’s not serial numbered or anything.

B.J. Upton and Justin Ruggiano from 2008 Upper Deck Timelines.

Scott Kazmir, B.J. Upton, and Justin Ruggiano from 2008 Upper Deck “Piece of History”.

And finally, Scott Kazmir “First Day Issue” parallel from 2008 Topps Stadium Club.

Thanks to Pete for these great cards!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yup, the Longoria is a gold foil parallel. Topps parallels come in gold foil, gold border, copper, black, and I’m sure there’s something else I’m missing.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

