More great cards from Eric

December 7, 2008 at 2:27 am | Posted in My Cards, Trades | 5 Comments

If you’re a baseball card blogger, the chances are pretty good that you’ve traded at least once with Eric, the Yankee fan in Minnesota.  Eric doesn’t have his own blog, but you can read posts about his trades all over the blogosphere.  He loves to trade cards of players from other people’s favorite teams in exchange for Yankees, Justin Morneau, or Joe Mauer cards.  Yes, Morneau and Mauer are Twins, but I’m sure that Eric dreams about them playing in pinstripes someday.  I’ve made a few trades with Eric, and I’ve received a ton of Rays cards from him along the way.  However, he recently offered me a Don Mattingly game-used memorabilia card from 2008 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts in exchange for a Justin Morneau relic card that I pulled from one of my boxes of 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces.  Since I am a huge Mattingly collector, and I didn’t have the Legendary Cuts card, it was an offer that I couldn’t refuse.

So I sent the Morneau card off to Bloomington, Minnesota, which Google Maps tells me is close to Minneapolis.  I guess I should apologize to the Morneau card – it’s probably freezing up there this time of year.  But I’m confident that Eric is storing it indoors and that he has heat, so it should be OK.  Anyway, a short time later, I received a package in the mail from Eric.  As I’ve come to expect from Eric, he sent me more than I was expecting.  Here’s my haul…

First, the Mattingly Legendary Cuts card, #28/50:

mattingly_legendary_cuts

I have to say that I really, really like Legendary Cuts.  Yes, I was critical of the product when it was first released, but that was before I owned any of the cards.  I ended up buying a hobby box at a card show back in August, and I immediately started to love the design of the cards.  In fact, I’m planning to buy a second box that I’ll break for y’all on YouTube.

Eric also sent me 3, yes THREE, Evan Longoria cards that I didn’t own.

Classic Combos from 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights:

longoria_arod_combo

Base card from 2008 Upper Deck Timelines:

longoria_timelines_base

And the elusive (for me) base card from 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces:

longoria_masterpieces

I opened two hobby boxes of Masterpieces and didn’t get this card, so I’m very happy to finally own it.  This is one of my favorite Longoria cards as it’s a great picture of him and I love that you can see The Trop so clearly in the background.

But that’s not all.  Since I ordered in the first 30 minutes, Billy Mays Eric also threw in the following:

  • Three other Longoria cards that I did already have: 2008 Allen & Ginter, and two subsets from 2008 Timelines.
  • Five B.J. Upton cards that I didn’t have, two different varieties from Timelines, two base cards from 2008 SP Authentic, and a base card from 2007 Fleer Ultra (actually I might already have that one, but I don’t want to check right now).
  • Scott Kazmir “1992 Upper Deck Minor League” card from 2008 Timelines.
  • Carlos Pena 2008 Stadium Club #270/999.
  • Jeff Niemann 2008 Updates & Highlights card.
  • 2006 Bowman Heritage Rocco Baldelli.
  • 10 different Don Mattingly cards – I actually had all of them already, but I thank Eric anyway.  Trading Mattingly cards to me is like my wife trying to buy presents for me.  I already have so many things that I like that it’s hard to find things that I don’t have that I want.  And so it is with Mattingly cards…
  • Five Rays (Upton, Crawford, Pena, Kazmir, and Shields) from 2008 Goudey.  I already have lots of these too.
  • And finally, some “vintage” Devil Rays: Jorge Cantu (2006 Bazooka and 2007 Fleer Ultra) and Wade Boggs (1998 Pinnacle and 1999 Topps 20th Century’s Best).

So once again, Eric demonstrates why he is one of the most awesome and most generous traders out there.  I’ll be sending more Yankees, Morneau cards, and Mauer cards to the “Land of 10,000 Lakes” to even out the trade.  Rumor has it that he’s also “casually” collecting Josh Hamilton and Joey Votto.  Sure, it might just be casual now, but it’s a slippery slope to a full collecting obsession!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What kind of Mattingly’s did ya get 🙂

    I like the Legendary Cuts ones…so much that I have one from every # version of the DM cards (where he’s fielding). I got a little obsessed with that. I got kind of deflated when I found out there’s an alternate version of the card DM2 where he’s batting.

  2. Pete – the Mattingly’s were: 2008 Masterpieces, two Yankee Stadium Legacy cards (5177 and 5200), 2008 Heroes base, 2008 Heroes w/ Winfield & Jackson, 1990 Donruss Baseball’s Best, 1988 Donruss Baseball’s Best, three 1987 Donruss Highlights (17, 23, and 48). Let me know if you need any of them.

    I do have one of the Legendary Cuts memorabilia cards with Mattingly batting too.

  3. The Masterpieces Longoria is maybe the nicest one in the set.

  4. I stand by the “casual” in collection of Hamilton and Votto… for the time being. As the Pettitte pool starts to dry up, I may then expand!

    And Bloomington is a suburb of Minneapolis; I’m about ten minutes from the Metrodome. I get to about 10-15 Twins games every year, and have no problem cheering for the M&M boys… unless the Yankees are in town.

    I’m guessing one of these days at work, I’ll finally break down and start a blog. It’ll be about my pursuit of Pettitte cards: all I need is a blog title and some computer know-how.

  5. I wish that I lived 10 minutes from a major league stadium…

    If you do decide to start a blog, I think you’ll find that it’s easier than you’d think. WordPress is pretty straightforward, and so is Blogger, which was very easy to figure out when I did my guest post on Phungo a few weeks back…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

