John Lennon – 28 years ago today

December 8, 2008 at 5:30 pm | Posted in Random | 10 Comments

This morning, when I looked at the calendar and saw that it was December 8, I came to the same sad realization that I come to every year on this day.  It’s now been 28 years since one of the most talented and creative singers and songwriters who ever lived was tragically murdered in New York City.  I was only one year and three months old at the time, but as I grew older, I became a very big fan of John Lennon’s music, both as a Beatle and as a solo artist, and an admirer of his activism for peace.

Like all of us, John Lennon was not without his flaws, but he’s someone who made a profound impact on the world, making it a better place.  I can’t even fathom how differently rock music would have evolved if it hadn’t been for Lennon and The Beatles in the 1960s.  Lennon was never satisfied with the status quo; he was always taking his music in new and different directions.   He never cared what the critics thought and I think that he purposely looked for ways to do the unexpected and challenge conventional thinking.  He led an extremely interesting life, and I never get tired of reading about him or listening to his brilliant music.

When December 8 rolls around each year, it is sad to think about how John Lennon’s life was stolen from him at the young age of 40.  What great songs were left unwritten?  How amazing would a Beatles reunion have been in the 1980s or the 1990s?  And how unfair is it that his son, Sean, had to grow up without his father…

But on the other hand, all of John Lennon’s fans can be thankful for the 40 years that he did have.  His songs will be around forever to inspire us, and the memories of his life will continue to bring smiles to millions of people around the world.  If you’re a fan of John Lennon, take some time tonight to listen to “Strawberry Fields Forever”, “All You Need Is Love”, “Come Together”, “Imagine”, “Instant Karma”, or any of the hundreds of other great John Lennon songs.

Or you can bid on this eBay auction for a John Lennon cut autograph card from 2008 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts.  It’s up to $1,370 with over 3 days to go!  Personally, I’d rather have an authenticated autograph on a photo or an album, but any Lennon autograph is probably way out of my price range.  If I want an autograph from any Beatle, I may have to settle for Ringo…

Here’s the card that’s being sold:

lennon_cut_auto

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That thing is so ugly, though.

    I have seen much nicer looking Lennon autographs.

  2. I think the card is a cool idea, but poorly executed, i.e. the hendrix cut from Ginter. Lets get better designs please.

  3. Lennon was my first thought today. Then it gets sadder when I realized that guitarist Darrell Abbott of Pantera fame was shot dead on stage four years ago today.

    But it cheers me up a little bit to finally remember that Jim Morrison (the singer/poet, not the baseball player) was born today.

  4. I remember … a very sad and pensive day.

  5. One of the worst days of my life – December 8, 1980. Along with August 2, 1979 – the day Thurman Munson died in a plane crash. Lennon was one of a kind. Thanks for posting this.

  6. Good call on noticing the day. I have a picture somewhere of the strawberry fields mosiac in Central Park. I need to find that.

  7. Anyone into Sean Lennon? If you can get music for free, give ‘Dead Meat’ and ‘Mystery Juice’ a shot. He’s got his dad’s voice and even some of his quirkiness.

  8. Thanks for pointing that out, Mario. I just checked out clips of those songs on iTunes and they sound good! I might buy a few. Thank God that he sounds like his dad and not his mom!

  9. …and nothing like Julian!

  10. I remember … a very sad and pensive day.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

