Want a Stadium Club blaster for $2.99?

December 15, 2008 at 12:39 am | Posted in Topps | 14 Comments

A few days ago, I read this post on the Cardboard Problem blog.  On a side note, I’m continually amazed by the number of blogs that include “cardboard” in their name.  But anyway, the bloggers at Cardboard Problem bought a blaster of 2008 Topps Stadium Club baseball cards at a Target, and it rang up as only $2.99 instead of the $19.99 that it should have been.  I remember thinking that they were pretty lucky, but I had it in the back of my mind when I visited my local Target in Apex, NC today.  Honestly, I didn’t think that the same problem would occur at my Target, and even if the problem existed in every Target store,  I thought that it would be fixed by now (the post on Cardboard Problem was dated December 9).

In Target, I found only one Stadium Club blaster remaining on the shelves.  I put it in my cart, picked up various household items that I needed, and walked to a checkout lane.  I would’ve been happy to pay the full price for the blaster since I am trying to build a Stadium Club set.  But sure enough, the blaster rang up as $2.99!  So I saved $17 on the purchase.  That’s 5 packs, and 40 cards, for $2.99.  Not a bad deal!

This evening I went back to the post on Cardboard Problem.  In the comments, I see that the same thing appears to be happening at Target stores all over the country.  So, I highly recommend visiting your local Target and taking advantage of the best card deal of the year.  Once word spreads about this, they’ll probably either sell out or Target will fix the problem, so act quickly while you can!

I think I might visit another Target or two during my lunch break tomorrow…

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Kim calls them blood cards because she believes it’s wrong to take advantage of the situation. I’ve gotten 3 blasters since we realize the discount. I buy them when I see them. I’ve pulled 2 autos but they weren’t anything spectacular.

  2. It happened to me in Cincinnati last week. I was a little confused when I looked at my receipt when I got home. Nice error, I suppose. Funny that it’s happening everywhere.

  3. How are the cashiers not questioning it though. My local store sells a lot of blaster boxes, and they are almost all $19.99. Doesn’t Topps even print the price very clearly in the upper right hand corner of the box? I would have to think that if you just went to the checkout with 5 blasters in hand, and nothing else, that someone would be inteligent enough to question it.

  4. I bought eight this weekend for the low, low price of $2.99 per. I pulled four autographs: Freddy Sanchez was the only one I had heard of. That being said, I was able to get the Jeter and Posada cards, meaning I don’t have to buy anymore of that this year.

  5. Charlie – I’m not sure why the cashiers don’t question it. I was a cashier at a grocery store when I was a kid, and I know that it would have aroused my suspicions. Topps does print the $19.99 price on the box. If they don’t know anything about cards (and 99% of Target cashiers probably don’t) then maybe they think there’s some sort of sale. I bought my blaster with about 20 other things, so the cashier probably didn’t notice, but I can’t imagine how the cashier didn’t suspect anything when Eric walked up with his 8 blasters 🙂

  6. Yeah, my boyfriend told me I was robbing the store, but it’s not my problem that the error was made.

    I bought four blasters at two different stores and neither time did the cashier look at the box.

    In fact, I bring my own bag with me (trying to be Green) and the cashier just hands me the blasters so I can put them in my bag. So they never really see the price on the box.

    Fun for us!

  7. Dave – I picked one up over lunch at $19.99 in Target and ended up with your box. No Longoria, but a Carlos Pena Photographers Proof and Pena Beam Team auto!

  8. The highlight of my $2.99 blaster extravaganza (3 blasters) was pulling card #94 (aka the Joe Dimaggio cut-out). Other then that I filled a couple of holes but still didn’t complete the set.

  9. spin – that is awesome – I recently bought the Pena Beam Team auto on eBay – all of the Beam Team cards look great!

    PAB – I’m jealous that you got card #94 – I’ll probably try to buy the cut-out on eBay eventually to complete my set…

  10. Hey Dave,
    I saw this post and jumped to the closest Target today. Unfortunately, they fixed the price problem and the price showed up as $19.99. I ended up not buying it, which was kind of awkward as it was one of only two items in my basket haha.

  11. Funny thing happened at my Target. The boxes wouldn’t scan on the price-checkers located throughout the store. They came back item not found. They rang up for $19.99 at the register though. Oh well

  12. Crap – it sounds like Target fixed the “problem”. Oh well, we knew it wouldn’t last forever.

  13. I’ve gotten two free at Wally-World. The seam of the packaging is right over the barcode. It rings up but doesn’t register. I’ve been two for two.

  14. Well in California the boxes were ringing up as “item not on file,” which means that the UPC was never entered into Target’s database. When the cashier asked me how much, I was honest and said $19.99. I mean how could they not notice the price point printed on the top corner of the box? Besides, karma is a bitch.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

