3 Milestones and 1 Contest

December 17, 2008 at 1:31 am | Posted in Blogs | 28 Comments

It seems like only yesterday that I wrote the first post for this blog.  It was the night of June 14, 2008.  I had been reading a bunch of card blogs for a few months, but I hadn’t seriously thought about starting my own.  I thought it would be fun, but much too time-consuming (which it is).  I eventually became a frequent comment leaver at my favorite blog, Wax Heaven.  In May, JV from Treasure Never Buried started his blog, and I became a daily reader on the first day.  I think it was a combination of Mario’s enthusiasm and seeing how JV started his blog from scratch that prompted me to start my own.  Then, on that weekend in June, my wife and I were on vacation at Virginia Beach.  On the night of the 14th, she fell asleep before I was really tired, so I sat down with my laptop, created a WordPress account, and started blogging.  It’s been a great experience in many ways ever since then.  I truly appreciate every reader, every comment, every email, every link to the blog, and every card trade that I’ve made since starting Fielder’s Choice.

Just within the last few days, the blog has reached three major milestones:

  • December 14 was the 6-month anniversary of the day that I created the blog.  My wife found it hilarious that I used the word “anniversary” to describe it.
  • The blog received its 25,000th visitor (and now it’s already surpassed 26,000) last week.  I know that there are other blogs with a larger readership base, and that a big percentage of my “hits” are probably from people who have come back more than once, but it’s still astounding to me that at least a few thousand different people have read what I’ve written.
  • This is the 200th post that I’ve written for the blog.

All of this prompted me to add a new page to the blog.  It’s a “Best Of” page where you can access all of the posts that I consider to be the best from the past six months.  You can check it out here.  I’ll be updating it monthly from now on.  I also updated the About Me page for the first time since June.

Anyway, due to these three milestones all happening at the same time, and it being the holiday season, I’ve decided to celebrate by holding my first ever contest.  It’s going to work differently than any contests that I’ve seen on other blogs.  I’m actually going to steal an idea from a YouTube box breaker, Jawdy from Jawdy’s Basement.  If you haven’t see his very entertaining box break videos, I strongly recommend checking out his channel.  I recently purchased a 2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot hobby box (tin) from Dave & Adam’s Card World.  I am going to have a group break for this tin, but nobody has to pay.  That’s right, I’m going to give away all of the cards in the tin!

p1010635

So far, this sounds exactly like what Jawdy did, but here’s the difference.  Rather than having random people participate (something like the first 30 people who leave a comment), I am automatically putting 30 people into the group break.  And who are these 30 people?  The list is composed of 30 people who in one way or another have contributed to making my blogging experience fun.  Most of them are bloggers who I’ve made trades with in the past.  There are also a couple of readers who I’ve made multiple trades with.  And finally, I’ve rounded out the list with some other bloggers who I haven’t traded with, but were very helpful by linking to my blog back when it first started and by leaving lots of comments on my posts.

I certainly don’t want anyone to feel left out, but obviously I could only include 30 people.  I gave the edge to bloggers over non-bloggers just because I know how hard it is to keep churning out blog posts regularly.  And I picked the readers who I’ve made multiple trades with over people who I’ve made only one trade with.  Finally, I’m limiting this to one entry per household, so Tatiana and Mario are only in one entry, and Kimaloo and Pete are only in one entry.  Please don’t take offense if you’re not on the list; I’m definitely not trying to slight anyone!  If there is anyone who is a glaring omission, I can assure you that it’s just an oversight.

Here’s the list of people who will be in the group break (not in any particular order):

  1. Mario from Wax Heaven (and Tatiana) – Mario has been more helpful than anyone in promoting my blog from day one!
  2. JV from Treasure Never Buried
  3. Gellman from Sports Cards Uncensored
  4. Mike (chemgod) from Bad Wax
  5. dayf from Cardboard Junkie
  6. Patricia and Lucy from Dinged Corners
  7. Scott from Hand Collated
  8. Chris from Stale Gum
  9. Bailey from The Nennth Inning
  10. Ryan from Trader Crack’s Card Blog
  11. Rob from Voice of the Collector
  12. Steve from White Sox Cards
  13. Joe from Cardboard Addiction
  14. Ben from Cardboard Icons
  15. Pete from Dropped Third Strike (and Kimaloo)
  16. Charlie from Hawk to the Hall
  17. Paul (deal) from Phungo
  18. Dan from Saints of the Cheap Seats
  19. PAB from The Player To Be Named Later
  20. Bill from Thorzul Will Rule
  21. Adam from Thoughts and Sox
  22. Eric Slette, a long-time reader who just started his own blog, The Pettitte Pursuit
  23. Larry – lwc4ut on YouTube
  24. Jawdy – JawdysBasement on YouTube
  25. Justin from Tampa Bay Sports Wasteland
  26. Marie and Sooz from Cardboard Problem
  27. Brian from 30-year old Cardboard
  28. Night Owl from Night Owl Cards
  29. JayBee from bdj610’s Topps Baseball Card Blog
  30. David from Tribe Cards

I’ve traded with everyone on this list except for Gellman, Chris, Brian, Night Owl, JayBee, and David.  They make the list because they have great blogs that have linked to me for a long time and/or they’ve left a lot of comments.  I hope to make trades with all of them in the future (except for Gellman, who usually doesn’t do trades).

Sweet Spot is my favorite high-end product, and with the 2008 version coming out soon (and retail already available), the price of 2007 Sweet Spot has gone way down.  I was able to pick up this tin for only a little over $40.  It will contain:

  • One Sweet Spot on-card autograph on either a baseball, bat, or glove embedded in the card
  • One “Sweet Beginnings” rookie on-card autograph with a mini-helmet embedded in the card
  • Two “Sweet Swatch” memorabilia cards
  • Two base cards numbered to 850

So there will be 6 cards to give away.  Each person will be assigned to one team and they will receive any cards that I pull from that team.  You can indicate your team preference by leaving a comment on this post before Thursday at 8:00 PM EST.  If no one else picks that team, then that team is assigned to you.  If multiple people pick a team, I’ll use random.org to choose one of them, and then the others will get a random team.  If you don’t indicate a team preference, then you’ll get a random team.  On Thursday night, I’ll post the team assignments, and after that you can make trades with anyone else until Saturday at 8:00 PM EST.  On Saturday night, I’ll open the tin on video and post it to YouTube and the blog.  If you win a card, I’ll mail it out to you next week!

Good luck to everyone, and happy holidays!

Update: I want to clarify a couple of things after reading the comments.  Each card will go to the person who is assigned to the team that the player on the card is pictured with.  So, for example, if Andrew Miller is in the tin, he’ll be in a Tigers uniform, so it’ll go to the person who’s assigned to the Tigers, and not the person who has the Marlins.  Also, it’s OK to pick a team that someone else has already picked.  For teams that multiple people want, I’ll pick one of those people at random using random.org, and whoever doesn’t get that team will get a random team.

28 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like fun!!

    I gues I could buck the trend, but I’ll stick with the White Sox. Who knows… maybe I’ll get lucky.

  2. This is a very fun and generous thing to do! I’ll call dibs on my beloved Giants! Thanks!

  3. Wow Dave!! Thanks for the break and the awesome plug!! I appreciate it!! I’ll take my PHILLIES!!! One more win for 2007 baby!!!! Thanks again!!!

  4. LOL…of course I meant 2008 in the above comment… I think the wine is hitting me…

  5. Wow, too many cool things to comment on!

    Congrats on all your milestones. Great work. May you have many more posts in you.

    Thanks for including me in the 30. If this doesn’t get me to trade with you, I don’t know what will.

    Great contest! I pick the Dodgers, of course.

  6. Always amazed by the generosity of card bloggers everywhere. I’d love the Reds.

  7. We will opt for the Yankees on this one. Thanks Dave!

    Happy Holidays to you also.

  8. Sweet. Thanks for thinking of me. Congratulations on your milestones. And good luck to everyone!!!

    Sincerely,

    JayBee Anama
    bdj610

  9. Cool, thanks! Braves here please.

  10. Wow, what a way to start my morning. Thanks Dave, and Happy Holidays to you as well.

  11. Dave,

    Thanks so much for putting me on here. I”m sure more than one wants the Yankees, but if not please put me on for them, it’s been written over and over in my blog that I’m a die hard Yankee fan. If I can’t get that one let’s go with the Pirates, which is my NL team.

  12. The awesomeness of your generosity cannot be understated! You know I would like the BoSox!

  13. I am humbled that you chose me to ba added to your group break. I’ll take Red Sox of course.

    Merry Christmas

  14. Congratulations on the milestone and thanks again for the awesome Madison Bumgarner ball you sent me so long ago. It’s my one and only autographed baseball so it means a lot.

    As for the group break. Is it teams the player is featured on the picture? If so, I’d like the Detroit Tigers in hopes of getting an Andrew Miller.

    Thanks for the contest!

  15. Wow, Dave. Great idea, and thanks for including me. Congrats, also, for becoming a stud in the BBcard blogging world.

    Of course, you know I prefer the Indians, and I’m sure David from Tribe Cards will choose them too, so randomize us.

  16. Crap, Yankees are already taken… how about I say Andy Pettitte and the Minnesota Twins?

  17. Thanks Dave. And Congrats on 6 months!! I’ll be different and choose ‘team to be named later’.

  18. Thanks! And its not that I dont do trades, its that I dont have the cards TO trade.

    I cant wait.

  19. Oh, and I guess I get to take the Twins? Are we supposed to choose a team.

  20. Wow cool. Thanks Dave!!!
    Put me down for the Cubs!

  21. You bastard Rob 🙂 I knew I should have commented first thing this morning when I read this!

    Great idea Dave. This is a great product to open, and very generous on your part.

    Hey Rob and Dave, how about a compromise? The only Cubs with autos are Pie, A-ram, and Rich Hill. Then there are base of Lee, Ram, and a couple others. How about I just call Hill, and you take the rest of the Cubs. What do you think? If not, no biggie. I’ll just take the D-Backs.

  22. Congrats on the milestones. It’s amazing how many blogs have popped up in the last year – and I am glad that everyone has continued posting through the winter.

    And big thanks for including Phungo in the break!

    sign me up for the random teams.

  23. Thanks Dave. I’d like to throw my name into the “Yankees” mix.

  24. Dave – awesome contest. Thank you for the invite. I’ll go ahead and throw my name in for the Orioles.

  25. Awesome! Congrats on the milestones, man! I think I’ve enjoyed your blog more than my own the last few months…haha… And thanks for the add on the list. I really appreciate it and feel honored to be included!

    And, I’m with Dan and David. I’ll take Cleveland Indians for $1,000, Alex…

  26. Thanks, Dave. We’re Mets.

  27. Thanks Dave…………I think you might have passed your flu bug to me, thru the cards you sent.lol I’ll take the Rockies.

  28. I’m sorry about that Larry – I really hope that it wasn’t the cards I sent that made you sick!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

