Merry Christmas!

December 29, 2008 at 7:40 pm | Posted in Holidays, My Cards | 3 Comments

OK, so my Christmas post is now 4 days late, but I promised a Christmas post when I wrote my Hannukah post, and I don’t like to break my promises.

My wife and I left town on the evening of Tuesday, December 23.  We drove north until we were too tired to go any further, and we stopped and got a hotel room in Beckley, West Virginia.  On Wednesday, we woke up, had breakfast, and drove up to Buffalo, New York to spend Christmas Eve with my grandparents, my dad, and his wife.  Then, we drove an hour east to see my mom in Rochester, New York.  We drove with my mom back to Buffalo on Christmas to see my grandma and some other relatives on my mom’s side of the family.  We went back to Rochester that night, and we spent all day there on Friday.  On Saturday, we shuttled between Rochester and Buffalo again, and then we started our trip back on Saturday night.  We stopped for the night in State College, Pennsylvania.  On Sunday, we had lunch at one of my favorite restaurants and we walked around the Penn State campus and the surrounding area for a couple of hours, reminiscing about my college days.  We left in the early afternoon, and finally got home at about 10:00 last night.  After unpacking, I crawled into my own bed and crashed.  Then I had to get up and work today.

Whew.

So that’s why I haven’t written any posts in a week.  I haven’t been able to keep up with other blogs either.  So I’ll be trying to catch up this week.  I’ve got a lot of emails to read and respond to, trades to complete, and posts to write.  And I’ll be getting psyched for the Rose Bowl on Thursday.

Anyway, back to Christmas.  I had a great Christmas with my family, and I hope that everyone out there also had a happy day.  The funny thing about Christmas is that we all spend so much time and energy to get ready for it, and then when it’s over, we try to put it in the back of our minds and move on to our normal lives as quickly as possible.  So I won’t dwell on it.  Except for this…

While most people were celebrating Santa Claus’ arrival or Jesus’ birthday, there was something else to celebrate on Christmas this year.  Yes, Christmas 2008 marked the 50th birthday of Rickey Henderson!

If you read the post about my Hall of Fame picks, then you already know that I strongly believe that Rickey should be elected unanimously to the Hall of Fame in January.  Not only that, but the more I reflect on his career, the more I start to believe that Rickey Henderson was the best baseball player who played in the era of my childhood in the 1980s and 1990s.  Sure, there were a bunch of power hitters (like Barry Bonds) and power pitchers (like Roger Clemens) who once seemed like all-time greats, but their reputations are now marred by steroid allegations.  Henderson was one of the few great players who seem to have been totally clean.  His accomplishments in breaking records and reaching milestones may never be equaled.

When he broke the career stolen base record in 1991, Rickey Henderson said, “Today, I am the greatest of all time.”  It seemed cocky at the time, but 17 years later, he’s right.  In many ways, Henderson deserves to be mentioned as one of the greatest players who ever lived.

To mark this occasion, here’s another PSA graded card in my collection, his 1980 Topps rookie card:

1980_henderson

And to wrap up my holiday posts, here’s the card that my wife and I sent out this year:

holiday_card1

Now bring on the new year (and the Rose Bowl)!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Did you make it back to good old Rochester for the multiple feet of snow snowstorm we had here?

    I miss summer.

    Merry Christmas!

  2. As might be expected, I definitely agree with you about Rickey! Any writer that leaves his name of their HOF ballot really shouldn’t be allowed to vote anymore.

  3. Chard, I was in Rochester after the snow and the temperature was between 40-50 degrees the entire time I was there – not bad at all!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

