My first in-person meeting with another blogger

January 2, 2009 at 7:38 pm | Posted in Blogs, Hobby Stores, My Cards | 8 Comments

When I made plans to visit my family in Rochester, New York over Christmas, I knew that at some point during my trip I’d need to take a break and do something fun.  As you may know, Dan from the Saints of the Cheap Seats blog lives in Rochester, and I read on his blog a few months ago about a good card shop in downtown Rochester called the Yankee Clipper.  So I emailed Dan and we made plans to meet up there on the day after Christmas.  I brought my wife with me, Dan brought his son, and we met.  As you might have guessed from the title of this post, it was the first time I’ve ever met a fellow blogger in person.  And as you might also guess, Dan is as nice of a guy in person as he seems on his blog.

Dan exhibited his customary generosity by bringing a bunch of Rays cards with him that he thought I might want.  I actually had all of them except for this very nice Rocco Baldelli relic card from 2007 Masterpieces:

masterpieces_baldelli

Rocco is a free agent, and there’s a good chance that he won’t be back with the Rays for the 2009 season, but no matter what, he’s still one of my all-time favorites.

Anyway, the card store was very nice and had a great selection.  Interspersed with the cards were things like comic books, old WWF action figures, and Atari video games.  There was a good selection of singles, packs, and hobby boxes.  Yes, packs.  The hobby stores near me don’t sell individual hobby packs, so it was nice to see that this store offered single packs.  The owner was also very friendly and conversational.  I can see why Dan likes going there so much!

Here’s what I walked out with:

  • An Eric Hinske silk card (#21/50) from 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights.  Hinske probably won’t be back with the Rays in 2009, but I had never owned a silk card before, and thought it would be cool to add a Rays silk card to my collection:
  • hinske_silk

  • Three Evan Longoria “gold foil” parallel cards from Updates & Highlights.  Now I have 4 different gold foil Longoria parallels from the set:

    longoria_gold_blast
    longoria_gold_hrderby
    longoria_gold_allstar

  • One hobby pack of 2008 Upper Deck Documentary.  I already knew that I didn’t like this set, but I wanted to buy one pack of it so that I could scan some of the cards for a post that I’ll be writing soon about what I don’t like about it.
  • One rack pack of 1984 Donruss.  Yes, 1984 Donruss, one of the best sets of the 1980s.  The only card that I’ve ever owned from it is my 1984 Donruss Don Mattingly rookie card, which I obtained in 2001 after wanting to own it for about 15 years.  So I was psyched to see rack packs of it for sale.  I’ll be even more psyched to open it, which I’ll do on video in the near future.
  • A bunch of thick magnetic card holders that I needed and some 5×7 top loaders for some oversized Don Mattingly cards that I own.

The Yankee Clipper was a very cool card shop, and I’ll be sure to stop by during future trips to Rochester.  It was also great to meet Dan and his son, and it would be great to meet some of my other fellow bloggers in person in the future.

I’m curious; have any other card bloggers ever met in person?  Or did Dan and I unknowingly break new ground in our hobby?  Let me know!  And on that topic, in the back of my mind, I’m thinking about going to the National this summer in Cleveland.  One of my wife’s college friends lives in Cleveland, so I have the perfect excuse for taking a trip up there.  Is anyone else in the blogosphere planning on going?

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You could’ve gone 2 1/2 hours up the road to Watertown and met me, too! (And I just found a card shop that sells hobby packs in my town yesterday!)

    I’m looking forward to that 1984 Donruss unveiling. That is probably the best Donruss set of the ’80s, if not ever.

  2. Get that ’84 Donruss rack pack opened soon. It’s cool to see box breaks of the new stuff but a vintage break would be a nice change of pace.

  3. PAB met Kim and myself at All About Sports in Winston-Salem. We didn’t even know it at the time. I think we had conversed like 3 times at the card shop before our blogs came up. Actually, it was your blog that came up. Then we realized that PAB and Kim had traded A&G cards. Also PAB and I worked at the same company just different offices. You should make a trip out to Winston sometime. I think William talked about a box breaking party in the future.

  4. I’ll be at the National – lets talk when it gets closer.

  5. The National sounds like a lot of fun, and a lot of money…. But lots of FUN!

  6. LIKED YOUR STORY ABOUT NEW YORK. I’M PRETTY NEW TO WORLD OF BLOGS AND STILL LEARNING AS I GO. MY TWO SONS AND I GO TO NATIONALS EVERY TIME THEY’RE IN CLEVELAND. LAST TIME AT THE BECKETT ( I KNOW THAT’S A BAD WORD WORD IN SOME CIRCLES RIGHT NOW !! ) BOOTH , I FOUND A CD THAT LISTED EVERY CLEVELAND INDIAN CARD FROM 1903 TO MID 2006 . PRINTED OUT IT WAS LIKE 500+ PAGES. I’M IN THE PROCESS OF CHECKLISTING MY CARDS WITH IT. I’LL TRY TO KEEP IN TOUCH WITH YOU AND MAYBE WE CAN MEET UP SOMEWHERE. I LIVE IN NEW LONDON , A SMALL VILLAGE ABOUT 50 MILES SW OF CLEVELAND. I’LL DIG OUT AND SAVE UP SOME ” RAYS ” CARDS !

  7. It sounds like we need to have an upstate NY bloggers convention the next time you come to Rochester. I live about an hour and a half south in Elmira. In fact, the firm I work for has an office in the High Falls section of Rochester (great view of the falls from their conference room). My local card shop sells packs (including a wall of 1980’s & 1990’s stuff) but their hours are terrible.

  8. I have yet to meet another blogger… well besides my fiancee. Does that count?

    Cool story. I lived up in NYC for a good long time before moving. But I must admit to not being a Mets or a Yankees fan.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

