Cool stuff in Topps Updates & Highlights

January 4, 2009 at 9:30 pm | Posted in My Cards, Topps | 7 Comments

I’m officially building a set of 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights.  This may seem strange, since I didn’t collect Topps Series 1 or Series 2 in 2008, but I really like Updates & Highlights.  The set first caught my attention because it includes 5 Evan Longoria base cards.  Then I got a bunch of Updates & Highlights cards in my Topps Heritage High Numbers hobby box and blaster, and I bought a few of the mega rack packs at Target, I got a blaster from my wife for Christmas, and I’ve made a few trades.  I like the variety in the set.  You’ve got base cards featuring a ton of rookies, All Star cards, Home Run Derby cards, Classic Combos, and many different types of inserts.  It’s a fun set to put together.

Anyway, I got a few cards from Updates & Highlights recently that excited me enough that I wanted to write a post about them…

Here’s Matt Joyce, the Rays new right fielder who they acquired from Detroit last month.  This is the first card of Joyce that I’ve ever owned:

uh_joyce

I’m looking forward to seeing what Joyce can do with the Rays after his impressive rookie season with the Tigers.

The next card was a big surprise.  I’ve been thinking a lot about how fun it will be to collect all of the David Price rookie cards in 2009.  Since he was a September callup, he’ll be eligible to be in every single 2009 set, and I can’t imagine that Topps or Upper Deck will leave him out of any.  Evan Longoria didn’t make his major league debut until the middle of April in 2008, so he wasn’t included in any sets until the middle of the year.  Collecting Price in 2009 should be even more fun than collecting Longoria in 2008.  I wasn’t expecting to see any Price cards in any regular (non-Bowman) 2008 sets, though.  And then I got this insert card in Updates & Highlights:

uh_price

You’d figure that the “Year in Review” inserts from a 2008 “Updates & Highlights” set would feature things that happened in 2008.  But this card commemorates the fact that 10 first round picks from 2007 waited until the deadline before signing in order to elicit the highest possible signing bonuses from their teams.  I think Topps was just looking for an excuse to make a 2008 card of David Price.  It’s a great picture of Price, and it makes me even more excited about all of the forthcoming 2009 David Price cards!

Topps is also inserting World Baseball Classic cards into Updates & Highlights packs.  The cards all feature players who played in the “Classic” during 2006.  I could care less about the World Baseball Classic and most of the cards in this insert set, but I managed to pull the one card from it that I really like.  It’s Rays second baseman Akinori Iwamura, who played for the victorious Japanese team in 2006, one year before he joined Tampa Bay:

uh_aki_japan

Finally, I pulled a gold Topps Town card.  I’ve gotten a ton of the regular Topps Town cards, but this my first gold variation.  I consider the Topps Town cards to be worthless pack fillers and I usually ignore them.  I don’t know if this gold card is somehow more valuable than the normal ones:

topps_town_gold

If anyone out there is collecting these Topps Town cards or entering them into the Topps Town web site, let me know what the significance of the gold card is.  Also, what exactly is Topps Town?  Is it just some game for kids?  What does Topps mean when they promise to make my cards “come alive”?  Basically, is it worth my time to register on the Topps Town web site and enter my codes?  I’m guessing that it’s not.  And if that’s the case, I’d be happy to give all of my Topps Town cards away if anyone wants them…

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dave – Topps Town is an online kids community… kinda like Webkinz but with Topps cards. The grey cards are the regular code cards and are good for random cards for the Topps Town online binder. The gold cards are the special cards which let you pick the cards you need for the set. My son finished the online binder last summer while collecting series 1 & 2.

  2. Let me know if you’re looking for any cards. I have a large batch of doubles. I could send you some stuff if you’re interested.

  3. chasingmoss – Thanks for the info. I’ll try to find a kid who wants them.

    Pete – I’ll be posting my U&H want list and list of doubles (plus a few other sets) to my Trade Corner soon.

  4. What do you do with Topps Town cards?

  5. Dave – I set up a blog for my son’s card trading adventures… U&H updated last week:

    http://ikescards.blogspot.com/

  6. Hey Dave….I have a MASSIVE amount of U&H here.. I see your response above about you posting your list and I will check it out and make sure you get what you need off it. In the meantime, I am going to look at your corner now and shoot you an e-mail if I have any of the cards you are currently looking for in your other sets.

  7. Others will probably beat me to it, but I can’t wait to get rid of my U&H cards (non-Dodgers, of course). I don’t have a lot because it disappointed me so much, but I’ll check out your want list and get back to you.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

