Some cards that have been “Hand Collated”

January 4, 2009 at 4:41 pm | Posted in Blogs, My Cards, Trades | Leave a comment

I’ve fallen behind on posting about card trades.  This one goes back to early December when Scott from Hand Collated and I decided to trade our Upper Deck Mastepieces hockey doubles.  As we emailed each other back and forth, we both added other cards into the deal.  The final outcome was that I sent some Masterpieces hockey cards, a few Topps Updates & Highlights baseball cards that he needed, and a bunch of Allen & Ginter and Upper Deck baseball cards to Scott in exchange for some Masterpieces hockey cards, 2 of the 5 Upper Deck 2008 O-Pee-Chee inserts that I needed, and a ton of Updates & Highlights.  Scott was much quicker in posting about the trade than I was; you can check out his post here.

Here’s a look at what I got in the trade:

  • 5 cards that I needed from Upper Deck Masterpieces hockey: Jari Kurri (#5), Darryl Sittler (#42), Peter Stastny (#58), Willie O’Ree (#73), and Mark Messier (#79).  This gives me 70 of the 87 base cards in the set.  I’ll be posting the cards that I need and the doubles that I still have to my Trading Corner very soon.  Here’s the Stastny card where he’s holding what I believe is the Calder Trophy that he won in 1981:

    stastny_masterpieces

  • 2 O-Pee-Chee inserts from the 2008 Upper Deck baseball flagship set.  The O-Pee-Chee inserts are one of my favorite inserts from 2008, and I’m looking forward to collecting the “1975 style” O-Pee-Chee inserts in 2009.  I now have 47 of the 50 cards from the 2008 O-Pee-Chee set.  The ones that Scott sent were Russell Martin and Prince Fielder.  Here’s Prince:

    fielder_opc

    Long-time readers of this blog will remember when Prince Fielder was featured in the blog’s logo.  I had a 2007 Goudey Prince Fielder card on the sidebar where the 2008 Goudey Evan Longoria is now.  I made the change to honor the Rays making the playoffs and to prevent people from thinking that I was a Brewers fan.

  • 28 cards from 2008 Updates & Highlights.  This is another set that I’m building that I’ll be posting to my Trading Corner soon.  I’m probably one of the only people in the world who likes Updates & Highlights better than Topps Series 1 and 2.  Scott included two Evan Longoria cards that I needed:

    longoria_base

    longoria_derby

I’ll wrap this up by encouraging you to read Hand Collated frequently if you don’t already.  It’s an entertaining blog and one of the best sources for news about upcoming releases on the web!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

