Surprise package from the Pettitte Pursuit

January 5, 2009 at 10:41 pm | Posted in Blogs, My Cards, Trades | 1 Comment

When I got home from my Christmas road trip, I found an unexpected package in my mailbox from Bloomington, Minnesota.  I think this happens to a lot of bloggers.  Yes, it was a package of cards were from Eric, the long-time super trader, and the guy who recently started his own blog, The Pettitte Pursuit.  You might recall that I received another package from him a few weeks earlier; I wrote about it here.

Here’s what I found inside:

  • Two cards from 2000 Topps advertising Trade Nights at “Home Team Advantage” hobby stores and a 2003 Topps football checklist.  It’s amazing how Eric knew that I had been dreaming of owning these!  Or maybe he just thought they’d help to fill up empty space in the card holder…
  • Two cards from 2008 Allen & Ginter: Matt Biondi (#107) and Pluto (#233).  I already had these, but I added them to my list of doubles for trading.
  • Two Statue of Liberty “Historical Moments” cards from 2008 Upper Deck Piece of History.  The Statue of Liberty has always been one of my favorite athletes.
  • One Don Mattingly card from 2008 Donruss Threads (#35).  I have a bunch of these, but it’s a really nice looking card.
  • Five Rays cards from 2008 Topps Stadium Club: B.J. Upton (#17), Carl Crawford (#31), Evan Longoria First Day Issue (#108 – the one where he’s holding a bat), Jeff Niemann First Day Issue (#135), and Justin Ruggiano First Day Issue (#144).  I didn’t have the Niemann or the Ruggiano.
  • Three Rays that I needed from 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights: ALCS MVP Matt Garza (#UH50), Ben Zobrist (#UH168), and Willy Aybar (#UH217).  These were the last three Rays that I needed from Updates & Highlights, so now I have a full team set.
  • Two “vintage” Devil Rays from 2000 Topps.  First is Jose Canseco, who looks like he’s watching a ball go foul:

    canseco_2000_topps

    Next is a very interesting Wade Boggs card:

    boggs_2000_topps

    This is from the “Magic Moments” subset in 2000 Topps, which I just learned about when I researched it after receiving this card.  There are 5 different versions of this card (#239) and every “Magic Moments” card in the set.  There are 10 of them in the subset.  Each variation commemorates a different achievement.  For Boggs, there’s the “1983 Batting Title”, “1988 Batting Title”, “2,000th Hit”, “3,000th Hit”, and “1996 World Championship”.  I really like seeing the word “championship” on a Rays card, even though Boggs won his championship with the Yankees.  Man, it must’ve killed Red Sox fans to see Boggs and Roger Clemens win championships with the Yankees.  And the five different variations of each “Magic Moments” card must’ve killed set builders in 2000!

  • A Don Mattingly Yankee Stadium Legacy card that I needed: Game 5472 from 07/31/1993.  The Yankees beat the Brewers 5-4 that day.  What’s really interesting is that Bob Wickman was the winning pitcher for the Yankees and Graeme Lloyd was the losing pitcher for the Brewers.  Three years later, they were traded for each other.  Anyway, here’s the card:

    mattingly_ysl_5472

  • And lastly, and most awesomely, Eric sent the Target exclusive Evan Longoria insert card from Updates & Highlights that I’d been wanting ever since I first heard about it:

    longoria_target

    This is definitely one of the coolest looking Longoria cards of 2008.  And you can tell a lot about how awesome of a trader Eric is by what he told me: “when I pulled the Longoria insert, I wanted you to have it ASAP… it’s pretty bad that I get as excited to pull a Longoria for you or a Zito/Wright for Dinged Corners as I do pulling a Pettite for myself.”

Thanks for the great cards Eric!  You can look forward to a package of cards from me very soon!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. To clarify – the A&G and Piece of History cards were just to pad the package too, but if you can trade them for something you need, hey, all the better! Glad I could polish off your U&H set in the process!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

