My answers to Dinged Corners’ New Year questions

January 6, 2009 at 12:45 am | Posted in Baseball, Blogs, Personal | 2 Comments

I’m late to the party, but I figure that it’s better late than never.  Here are my answers to the New Year’s questions posed by Patricia and Lucy from Dinged Corners:

Round One

1-If I didn’t collect baseball cards, I’d collect _________.

The only thing I can think of would be autographed baseball memorabilia.  I have a bunch of autographed balls, game-worn Durham Bulls jerseys (Evan Longoria and Joey Gathright), and some other items that I’ve either gotten signed myself or purchased over the years.  But honestly, if it weren’t for baseball cards, I’d probably save and invest my spare cash much more wisely.

2-My baseball heroes include one you probably wouldn’t know from my blog or comments, and that person is __________.

This is a tough question because I’ve written about so many of them at least once.  I’ll go with Thurman Munson.  I’ve never written a post about him.  I think that if I grew up in the 1970s instead of the 1980s and 1990s, Munson would have been my favorite player.  He was the Yankees captain and hardest worker just like Don Mattingly was.  Sadly, he died in a plane crash a little more than a month before I was born.  If that hadn’t happened, I like to think that he would’ve played for a really long time like Carlton Fisk, and that I would have gotten to watch him play during the end of his career.

3-Every New Years I resolve to __________ my collection.

Well, I haven’t resolved to do anything with my collection before this year.  But this year, I’d like to get my collection organized.  I currently have a lot of random piles of cards all over my desk and in the bonus room in my house.  I’d also like to collect only a handful of sets in 2009 and focus my attention on them, and reduce the amount of money that I spend on cards.

4-If I could spend a day with one person from baseball history, it would be ________.

There are so many possibilities, but I’ll go with Yogi Berra.  He’d have a ton of stories about all of the great players that he played with, and I’m sure that he’d be extremely entertaining.  I’d love to spend a day listening to Yogi churning out Yogiisms, and trying out some Daveisms on him!

Round Two

1-What is your favorite kind of dog?

I like mutts.  My dog when I was growing up was a mutt, and I just like the variety that you see in them.  With a pure-bred dog, you always know what you’re going to get, but every mutt is different in their own way.

2-Who is your favorite baseball player?

Don Mattingly was my favorite player when I was a kid, and Evan Longoria is my favorite current player.

3-What is your favorite team?

The 2008 American League Champions, the Tampa Bay Rays!  I’m also a huge fan of their Triple-A team, the Durham Bulls.  Since the Rays have only been around since 1998, my favorite “historic” teams are the Yankees and the Brooklyn Dodgers.

4-What is your favorite baseball movie?

Definitely Major League.  The movie featured a great cast of characters and Bob Uecker’s announcing was legendary.  Bull Durham comes in second.  Since I’m a Bulls fan, part of me wants it to be #1.  It is great, but it would’ve been better with less Susan Sarandon and more baseball action.  Oh, and I can’t forget The Bad News Bears in Breaking Training.  I must’ve watched that a thousand times when I was a kid.  I had that and the original Bad News Bears on video, but I always liked the sequel better.  I think I liked seeing the kids trick their parents and go to Houston by themselves in that ugly van driven by Kelly Leak.  And to this day, I like to break out the “Let them play!” chant.  OK, I know that’s three movies, but I really like baseball movies.

5-What is your favorite baseball book?

I read a ton of baseball books when I was a kid, but not many in recent years.  However, about six months ago, I read Card Sharks: How Upper Deck Turned a Child’s Hobby into a High-Stakes, Billion-Dollar Business by Pete Williams.  It was written in 1995 and it provides an excellent history of the baseball card hobby and the rise of Upper Deck.  It covers how Upper Deck changed the hobby and its extremely unethical shenanigans.  I keep meaning to write a post about the book, and I’ll do it eventually.  I think that it’s a must-read for every baseball card collector.

6-What is your favorite card?

I have a ton of favorite cards, and it’s very hard to narrow it down to just one.  The card that jumps into my mind from my collection is the 1956 Topps Jackie Robinson card that I wrote about here.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. DAVE!!! Thurman Munson was my IDOL growing up!!! My favorite card is my 1970 mint rookie of Thurman! I loved him cause he shared my birthday…just 20 years earlier than me. The day he died – I was at the pinnacle of my worship for him…was the saddest day of my life to date – even sadder than the day John Lennon died and the day Freddy Mercury died. Both horrible days for me. Thurman was THE MAN!! Good to see you are a fan as well!!!

  2. Well, I guess that great minds like the same players, haha. I’m surprised that you didn’t wind up as a Yankees fan!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

