The Longoria collection grows – 3 new autographs

January 9, 2009 at 12:15 am | Posted in My Cards, Rays, Topps, Upper Deck | 1 Comment

Here’s an update on my ever-growing Evan Longoria collection.  First, it’s now up to 78 different cards!  I’m hoping to reach the century mark by spring training.  If you have any cards that I don’t have that you’d be willing to trade (or maybe even sell), let me know.  Secondly, three of my newest Evan Longoria cards are autographs, which brings me up to 20 different autograph cards.  Here are the new ones…

First up is one of the many Evan Longoria cards in 2008 Upper Deck Timelines.  This one is based on the 1995 SP Rookie card design, and it’s numbered 47/95:

longoria_timelines_auto

There are a bunch of low-numbered Longoria autographs in Timelines that I’ll probably never get a chance to own, but it’s nice to be able to have at least one.  I think it’s a sweet looking card; I really like the die cut.

Next is an autographed refractor from 2008 Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects.  It’s numbered 02/99:

longoria_dpp_ref_auto

I really, really like refractors and I love that this is an on-card autograph and not a sticker.  Of course, I have an unopened hobby box of Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects, and it’ll be just my luck to pull the same card from that.  Hey, it happened with Stadium Club!

Finally, here’s one from the recently released 2008 Bowman Sterling.  It’s not serial numbered:

longoria_2008_sterling

This will probably be the only 2008 Bowman Sterling card that I’ll buy.  I’m not very impressed with the card design or the foil stickers that are used for the autographs.  Also, the photo of Longoria from behind is kind of awkward.  On-card autographs are the best in my mind, followed by the transparent stickers used by Upper Deck and Donruss-Playoff, and the Topps foil stickers are the worst.  Hopefully Topps will get the message and ditch the foil stickers in 2009!  But I wouldn’t hold my breath…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I actually don’t mind the foil autographs in Sterling (but only in Sterling). They look like garbage in other products, but I have a 2007 Bowman Sterling Hamilton autograph, and the foil sticker really fits with the sort of ‘metallic’ look of the card overall.

    Of course, if it comes down to Topps using foil stickers on everything or nothing – I’d go with nothing. Sterling doesn’t look good enough to balance out how utterly crappy the foil looks on other sets.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

